Chewy Sugar Cookies

2013 028

Perfect, chewy, and buttery! Doesn’t get any better than that!

I’m going to preface my post by saying, I don’t like to bake with “littler helpers”. This is why I bake at night, in the wee hours of the morning when I can be alone to do whatever it is I have planned. I notice I can get more done this way and more quickly as well. I’ve been told I’m like my Great Grandmother , Memaw, and Mother who all didn’t have kids in their kitchens either. With that said, I do intend on teaching my son to cook and to know his way around the kitchen…just not right now at this point in time. This Momma can’t handle it! LOL However, this is a great recipe for you out there who love to bake with your kids. It’s simple, tasty and every child is going to love the end result of a warm freshly baked cookie!

We love cookies in our house, not nearly as much as pie but awfully close, and sugar cookies seem to be the go to treat for everyone. Especially my Mom who could eat these cookies till she’s sick! Yes they are that good! I decided to make these to take to church for the Wednesday night class I help teach. I figured sugar cookies are neutral, what kid doesn’t like them?! They were hit of course and even the other helpers in the class couldn’t get enough of them. By George, I think I’m on to something!

The family recipe we have for sugar cookies aren’t like these. Ours, from the family recipe, come out a tad crisper around the edges and are more delicate, something enjoyed more by the adults rather than the children. After scowering the internet for the best chewy sugar cookie I came across this recipe and fell in love with its simplicity! I even thought wow thirty cookies isn’t a lot, now mind you I’m not a visionary person. I have to actually see it in order to know how it’s going to turn out. I found out that from the amount of dough I had (which I doubled so my family could have some as well) that the size of those thirty to sixty cookies was going to be a lot of cookie for little hands to handle. Trusty one tablespoon to the rescue!!! It made the perfect little cookie and about four dozen at that! But so very worth it!

Without further ado, here is the recipe I used which will make about 30 cookies. And a word of caution to novice bakers, it is recommended to refrigerate the cookie dough at least 2 hours  or overnight prior to baking. This will keep the dough from spreading out too much and to maintain that chewier texture.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups margarine
2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup white sugar for decoration
  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and 2 cups sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then the vanilla. Gradually stir in the dry ingredients until just blended. Roll the dough into walnut sized balls and roll the balls in remaining 1/4 cup of sugar. Place cookies 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets and flatten slightly.
  Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until lightly browned at the edges. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Now, I didn’t roll the sugar cookie balls in any extra sugar. After rolling them into balls I lightly pressed them down on the lined cookie sheet pan and proceeded to bake them. They are just as delectable this way and not overly sweet. I certainly do hope you enjoy these and have a blessed day!

 

5 thoughts on “Chewy Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: It’s time to celebrate! | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

