TBLT Wraps

For some reason Wednesday’s are not a good day for me to be in the kitchen cooking up a regular dinner for everyone. Especially not with school and making sure I have everything I need for the Wednesday night class I help with…dinner is the furthest from my mind up until four o’clock and I realize I need to get something fixed. I’m just glad I planned ahead over the weekend and had everything ready by this afternoon.

Usually the quickest thing we do on a Wednesday night is some frozen pizza. I know, it’s not nutritious and most certainly NOT low carb but it’s fast. We really need to get away from that kind of stuff and this is why I chose to make the turkey, bacon, lettuce, tomato wraps. They are relatively easy, just needs some prepping ahead which makes the assembling go by so much faster!

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/2 pounds bacon, whole strips (turkey bacon will work too)

8 slices turkey deli meat

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

3 TBLSP mayo

2 green onions, thinly slices or 2 tsp dried minced onion

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried chives

4 roma tomatoes, half slices

1 head romaine lettuce, rinsed and dried or your favorite lettuce

8 high fiber tortillas, or your favorite

bacon2

Choose your favorite bacon, aka streaky bacon in the UK. (Yes, we use ring forceps when cooking bacon!)

frying bacon

Fry up the bacon to your liking, I tend to over do it so I have to be careful to not make it too crispy. The wonderful thing about this recipe is even if you do overcook it, as it sits in the fridge, the bacon will soften up. No worries there *phew*

high fiber wrap

The cream cheese spread is super easy to make: mix together the softened cream cheese with the mayo, onions, garlic powder, chives, and black pepper. Spread a layer of this mixture over the tortilla first. Before anyone asks, no the Blue Man Group were not in my kitchen cooking today πŸ™‚ I prefer wearing gloves especially when it involves greasy or creamy foods, cuts down on multiple trips to the sink and helps keep things sanitized.

005

Next layer with turkey slices (one or two depending on the size of the tortilla), and add three slices of bacon.

006

Top it off with some lettuce and half slices of tomato.

(Looking good yes?! Too bad these aren’t scratch n’ sniff photos.)

008

Wrapping it up is a cinch: I like to fold the wrap toward me, so I take the side furthest from me and bring it toward me and roll until the wrap is seam side down. Cut on a bias or into thirds. I’ve cut these into sixths for get togethers, securing them with little tooth picks. Works perfectly then as an hors d ‘oeuvre, a crowd pleaser for sure!

009

This one recipe makes 16 servings for 8 people. Serve it up with your favorite chips, fries, raw veggies and dip, or fruit on a skewer!

These are even better the next day so be sure to make these up ahead of time to allow the flavors to blend and mellow.

Happy cooking!

2 thoughts on “TBLT Wraps

  1. I have found that I am too lazy to fry bacon. Instead, I bake it in the oven with my “friend” aluminum foil on the bottom of a metal pan on the lower rack. Every oven is different so I’m not going to say the cook time, but I’ll throw the temp somewhere between 350-400. It works best if the oven isn’t preheated, so it’s done within 20 minutes. No flipping. No pan washing. Whole house smells like bacon and there’s enough to feed an army.

Leave a Reply

