Magic Tomato Soup Cake circa 1950

Magical things were certainly happening in the kitchen tonight! I stumbled upon this funky recipe that calls for tomato soup…I can’t make this stuff up!

vintage-tomato-soup-cake-recipe-1950

I will admit, I had my doubts. But I was certainly amazed at not only the spicy aroma but impressed by it’s flavor. Could barely tell it had tomato soup in it!

Here’s the recipe:

014

Magic Tomato Soup Cake

2 Tblsp butter or margarine, softened

1 c sugar

2 c sifted flour

1 tsp each of cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg

¼ tsp salt

1 can (10 oz) tomato soup

1 tsp baking soda

Cream butter, sugar well. Sift flour; measure; resift 3 times with spices, salt. Alternately add dry ingredients with soup-soda mixture. Pour into greased loaf pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes @ 350 degree oven.

Cream Chocolate Frosting

1 package cream cheese

3 Tblsp milk

3 c sifted confectioners’ sugar

2 squares bitter chocolate, melted

½ tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

Mash cream cheese. Add milk gradually, beating till blended. Add sugar gradually, beating till smooth. Add melted chocolate, salt, vanilla. Beat till smooth.

Instead of making one regular cake loaf I made two mini loaves and I didn’t make the chocolate frosting, mostly because I wanted to cover them with foil. If you want to save yourself the trouble you could use your favorite premade icing. But…this has me thinking…

051

This cake would be awesome with some golden raisins! No joke, this cake reminded me of a yummy spice pumpkin cake just without the raisins. It has a lovely dense texture and is best with a little butter spread on it.

butter bitten 1

Ohhhhhh yeah, I had to do it and it was gooooooood! I encourage everyone to try this magical cake, it’s amazing what used to be and once was forgotten over the years has now been revived! Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

