Good Morning Pancake Squares

What a beautiful Sunday morning it is! By this time we’re usually finishing up Sunday school but it’s been a poorly morning and actually weekend so far. Determined to not let anything ruin this glorious day I decided to make the morning special for my little guy. Today I wanted to try a new recipe, well new to me anyway. The family of Night Owl Kitchen loves pancakes, very fond memories of my Mom’s homemade buttermilk pancakes and my son just loves chocolate chip pancakes any time I’m willing to make them.

While I love to cook and bake there are days when I’m just not in the mood *gasp*! Yes I admit it, I’m just like everyone else! I love short cuts and cutting corners when I can. I stumbled upon a recipe for pancake squares late last week and was intrigued! I first saw the recipe at Big Red Kitchen (click here) and the variations thereof, right then I knew this was something I had to try. My son woke up to find it waiting for him and announced happily “Now this is a REAL breakfast!”

002

Pancake Squares
 

3/4 cup milk
2 T. melted butter
1 large egg
1 T. sugar
1 cup flour
2 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt

Preheat oven to 350°. Lightly grease an 8×8 baking dish. In a large mixing bowl, beat together milk, butter and egg. Add sugar, then gradually beat the flour in. Carefully stir in the baking powder and salt. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Serves 4-6.

Pancake Squares Breakfast

This was just as yummy as if I had slaved over a griddle making individual round pancakes. It was quick and easy to make, baked up in 25 minutes and met the approval of my son 🙂

Breakfast Picnic

No doubt these would be a winner for those busy school mornings, your next family’s weekend breakfast or when the in-laws come over for a visit! Hope you enjoy, we sure did!

Amanda Gayle

 

Leave a Reply

