Quick Fix Dinner

Evening folks! It’s been a nice day here in sunny Alabama, hope you’ve been able to enjoy this fine weather where you are 🙂 It’s been a busy afternoon straightening up the dining room, laundry and just general cleaning. We’re in the process of getting things ready to receive my Papaw who will be flying up next week and around 4pm I started looking online for some quick frugal meals with ingredients we already had on hand. That’s when Mom pulled out a hamburger cookbook and went through it for about 45 minutes until we finally settled on two versions of a beef stroganoff.

So we combined the recipes! Why not right? From start to finish it took about 25 minutes. The finished product seemed to pass everyone’s approval!

This was a hit apparently!

This was a hit apparently!

Alas, I cannot eat it such things anymore though. Beef and pork are off limits for me thanks to some health issues earlier this year that lead me to add a more alkaline lifestyle to my lower carb lifestyle. As if they aren’t limiting enough on their own, combined it can get rather boring! As I was putting the final touches to their meal, made my Dad his salad I sat back and wondered what I could eat. I didn’t want more chicken or turkey, and frozen leftovers weren’t appetizing tonight. Instead I came up with this…

Low Carb High Fiber Wraps

2 high fiber wraps

romaine salad mix, about 3/4 cup

2 organic cucumbers, peeled and sliced lengthwise

1/4 tomato, sliced

Wholly Guacamole 100 Calorie pack

Ranch dressing

Drizzle some ranch dressing on the wrap, spread with a knife. Lay down some romaine lettuce mix. 

021

Peel and slice cucumber lengthwise in half, and cut each half again lengthwise. Each cucumber yielding four long strips.

015      009

With 1/4 of a tomato slice into four slices.

017

On top of lettuce layer three long slices of cucumber with two pieces of tomato on top. Finish it off with a generous squeeze of guacamole and wrap it up.

022

It doesn’t get much easier than that! It was quick, tasty, and hits the spot for a meatless night! I’ve been eating this way since January and no longer have any stomach ulcer issues, I’ve been able to continue losing weight, and just generally feel better over all. This coming from a person who was never really a vegetable fan to begin with 😉

I talked with Mom about needing to rearrange the freezers…uh, yes I said freezers. Plural. More than one….*crickets*….Because I want to start making and freezing casseroles and other dinners again for the family seeing how I have to make two different meals every night. Basically I want to make it easy on myself, hopefully freezer organization will make it on the list this week so I can share with you all some yummy meals that all you have to do is thaw and bake up! *keeping fingers crossed*

Hope you have a peaceful evening, I’m going to go chill with some mellow jazz for a bit. Night!

Amanda Gayle

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Fix Dinner

  1. Howdy, I think your blog could possibly be having browser compatibility issues.

    Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, great website!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂 I really appreciate it!
      Unfortunately I don’t have any control over the browser issue at this point. I do all of my work through Mozilla Firefox within Word Press. After viewing my blog through IE I can see that some of the pictures did not line up the same way as they do in Firefox. I’m still very new to this, going on two weeks here soon, and unfortunately I am not handy with the technical stuff. Everything is not where I want it to be or how I would like it, still working on buttons at the top, and trying to figure out how to customize my background(nothing has jumped out at me yet). Will ask around about how to fix that and if the solution is to work through IE instead of Firefox then that won’t do since I’m not an IE fan. But thank you for letting me know because I hadn’t thought about how it might look through another browser other than Firefox.

Leave a Reply

