Apple Fritters

Afternoon everyone!! What a beautiful day here in Alabama, birds are going crazy in the back yard compost pile flipping debris looking for delicious worms. Just thought I’d take a break from my activities to share an uber yummy recipe that I stumbled upon this morning.

I can remember my Mom making donut holes, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, but one of my favorites was apple fritters. Warm, soft, sweet, and with lots of syrup! Those were the day 🙂 I’m sure we all have similar memories, whether it was a mom, grandmother, aunt, or even a grandfather cooking up some special breakfast/brunch goodies. We’d usually have ours with some bacon on the side and orange juice or milk. It’s been some time since I’ve had apple fritters and to my knowledge my son had never eaten them before. Doing a few searched I came across one over at Seemingly Greek blog (click here). I loved it’s simplicity and it would help used up the remaining gala apples in the fridge. I only changed up the process just a bit, but here’s the recipe I followed.

Homemade Apple Fritters Recipe:

1 heaping cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
dash salt
1 – 2 tsp. cinnamon (depending on how much you love cinnamon)
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 T. butter, melted
1 egg
1/3 cup milk + plus more if needed
1 – 1 1/2 cups chopped apple, your favorite kind for eating, peanut sized or smaller
oil for frying
milk and powdered sugar glaze for dipping or just powdered sugar for dusting
(About 1 cup pwd. sugar + 1 T. milk or more) 

 

Mix all dry ingredients together, slowly add the wet ingredients minus the apple. Carefully mix until well combined but not overly beat,gently fold in apple pieces. The batter should be the consistency of a light cake mix. Once the oil is ready (when a test drop of dough floats to the top of the oil, a drop of water sizzles, or a piece of white bread browns in 60 seconds) then using a cookie scooper or soup spoon, place a 4-5 balls of dough into the oil. Be careful not to overcrowd and watch carefully for the underside to turn golden brown, then gently flip over and continue frying until done. I cooked mine about 35 seconds per side, but they were the size of golf balls – adjust cooking times based on size of fritters and temperature of your oil, ideally around 365° F. It is always a good idea to test one to ensure it comes out like you are expecting.

When I began mixing the ingredients together, I didn’t add the wet to the dry immediately. First I shredded the apples (2) into the dry ingredients first and added the wet ingredients(increasing the milk to 2/3 cup). I shredded the apple because I didn’t want chunks, this allows the apple to become one with the batter 🙂

Apple Fritter Batter

Apple Fritter Batter

Used a tablespoon of batter per fritter, to me, it makes the perfect size!

032   031

Fritters getting happy happy in the hot oil!

Chunky Monkey unable to resist

Chunky Monkey unable to resist

I warned him that it was hot but he just couldn’t resist trying one from the first batch.

035   036

Made a simple glaze of powdered sugar and milk. These are so tender and good with or without the glaze, it brought back some wonderful memories for me and created some new ones for my boy 🙂 Hope you enjoy!

Amanda Gayle

 

One thought on “Apple Fritters

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Pancakes (or Squares) Recipe & Review | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

