Throw Back Thursday: Chicken Griddle Cakes (1913)

Night Owl Kitchen Menu June 6 2013

I’m so sorry this post is late, today just wasn’t my day to get on here to write. I hope everyone is getting ready for the weekend! I think there’s been talk about us going up to Lynchburg, TN this weekend. For me, I hope I get to go and visit some of my favorite antique shops!!

Tonight’s dinner was so delicious, I can’t say enough about it, perhaps odd to some but I would definitely make it again 🙂 I absolutely love chicken and we buy frozen grilled chicken strips. They are so many things you can use them in…soups, casseroles, enchiladas, and tonight I used them to make chicken griddle cakes. There is no modern day recipe for them, I found them through a website called The Olden Times (click here). I was naturally intrigued by the recipe and knew I just had to make them to go along with dinner. So, grab a bowl, whisk, and measuring spoons…get ready to bring back a forgotten oldie!

Here is how the original recipe reads, I’ll then share a more updated version with my slight variation.

The following recipe was transcribed ver batim from 

The Rains County Leader

Emory, Rains County, Texas

May 16, 1913

Beat one egg, add two tablespoonfuls of chicken fat, melted; one cupful of minced chicken, half a level teaspoonful of salt, one pint of milk, and flour enough to make a batter that will spread slowly when placed on the griddle, having previously sifted three teaspoonfuls of baking powder into the flour.

I could just picture it…minced chicken…batter…mmmm, all that was missing was a fork! Anyone who loves putting chicken and waffles together, or chicken and biscuits, or chicken and pancakes is going to LOVE this recipe!! But I had to figure out how much flour to use. I asked my in house head chef (Mom) and she pointed me to her buttermilk pancake recipe…brilliant! The ratio of flour to buttermilk, or milk, was perfect. I followed the vintage recipe, but I added a few things…

1 egg

2 TBLSP chicken fat, melted or 2 TBLSP peanut oil

1 cup minced chicken of your choice

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp dried minced onion flakes(my addition)

1/4 tsp garlic powder(my addition)

2 cups milk or butter milk

1 3/4 c all purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

 

First, thaw a quart size bags worth of frozen grilled chicken strips. I do believe it’s the Tyson brand, if I’m not mistaken. You can use any chicken you like though, canned, leftover, rotisserie, boiled, oven roasted…it really doesn’t matter. Use whatever you have on hand. Here I’ve placed the chicken in a food processor. Since the recipe calls for minced chicken I figure the best way to get it minced would be to whiz it up.

002

I’d say it took about 8–10 pulses to get it “minced”. My oldest nephew told me later he thought the pieces needed to be bigger. You can make this as chunky as you like or as minced as you like. Measure out 1 cup of the minced chicken and set aside.

003

In a separate bowl, beat the egg and peanut oil together. I went with peanut oil because I didn’t have to melt anything and I can’t have chicken fat any way. Feel free to use any oil you prefer, canola, vegetable, peanut, coconut, or olive oil. Just be sure it’s 2 tablespoons worth and make sure you beat it vigorously, this will help emulsify the oil with the egg.   Add in salt, black pepper, dried mince onion flakes, and garlic powder. Add your chicken, milk or buttermilk, all purpose flour, and baking powder. With a spoon or silicone spatula, gently stir the contents together but whatever you do, do not over mix! That will make for very tough and very thin griddle cakes.

005   006

Over a medium high burner, heat up a griddle with 1 tablespoon of oil or butter. Test the griddle with a droplet of water…if the water looks like it’s “dancing” over the pan then you’re ready to cook up your batter.  It’s going to be thickish, the key to keeping them light is from this point on to not stir the batter anymore. Use a small ladle and pour the batter on the hot griddle, enough to make four griddle cakes. The doneness, or brownness of the cakes depends on your preference. These do not bubble on top like normal pancakes, that may be due to the chicken. All I noticed was that they would form a dryness from the edges that crept up over the dome of the uncooked batter. At that point I figured it was a good time to flip them. Remember, it’s all in the wrist! Even I had a few flops in flipping them 🙂 It happens to everyone!

008

The first batch was done, I was very pleased with their golden brown color. This particular recipe made 17 griddle cakes and we only had 4 left to put away for someone to eat in the morning! I’d say they were a hit 😀 I served these alongside some buttered mixed veggies that were lightly seasoned with kosher salt and black pepper. The rest of the family ate these with their salisbury steak, mashed potatoes, and corn. My Papaw, who’s visiting us for the week, suggested that these would be good with some butter and syrup. I could definitely be all over that!

All around the table I’d definitely say everyone gave this two thumbs up and is definitely a keeper!! Give them a try and let me know what you think.

Happy Eating!

Amanda Gayle

One thought on “Throw Back Thursday: Chicken Griddle Cakes (1913)

  1. Pingback: Super Quick BBQ Chicken Salad | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

