Go Alkaline…Wait, What?

Say what?!

There are so many benefits to going a little more alkaline in your daily diet.  It’s all about eating the right fruits and veggies. With that said you shouldn’t do anything without first consulting your doctor and understanding that not everything will work the same for every person.

Back in January of this year, I was having excruciating pain in my upper stomach. Woke up New Years Eve at 4:30am with a stabbing pain (only way I can describe it) that went through me to the back. Thinking it was hunger pains, I made myself some eggs and sausage, drank my coffee. Had relief for three hours, the pain came back even stronger only it was making my stomach feel icky. I drank some water and that seemed to help marginally but I’m not a huge water fan. This kind of pain went on for a couple of weeks, subsiding when I would eat every three hours and chew up to 10 vitamin C’s to help with the pain in between meals. It worked but I didn’t want to continue on not knowing what was going on. The pain was worse at night and laying down didn’t help.

Since I don’t have health insurance, and I’m not on medicaid, I couldn’t go to the doctor to figure out what was wrong with me. Instead I did what I always do…I turned to the internet and decided type in my symptoms. After a couple of false scares as to what could be causing the pain I stumbled upon a message board with people describing the exact symptoms that I was having. People were talking about being diagnosed with and ulcer(s) and discussing the methods of treatment that their doctors were putting them through. I had no way to find out if I had an ulcer, but just reading those comments and every single one sounded just like me I thought what if I do have an ulcer and H.Pylori or the beginning of an ulcer? What can I do naturally to treat it?

The weekend before MLK’s birthday(21st) I had done enough reading about alkaline foods and how they heal the body I was very excited to start eating foods that were no longer bland and mushy. That Saturday night I made myself a veggie bowl and avocado soup. Let me just state right now…I’m not a vegetable person, I am not a huge lover of eating my vegetables unless they were coated in butter and creamy sauces. That had to stop naturally, and after eating alkaline vegetables (cucumber, celery, carrots, zucchini, lots of kale, cauliflower, broccoli, etc) and the only fruits I could have at the time were blueberries and strawberries for a few days I noticed a big difference. Sure I was taking pepto bismal before every meal, taking prilosec, keeping rolaids by the bed, taking acidophilus, and bladderwrack to help kill off any H. Pylori if I had any (which I’m thinking I did because the pain went away after two weeks and I haven’t had any problems since).

After two weeks of eating alkaline food and drinking more water I was feeling 100% and even better than ever before! By March I began tracking my weight loss since I knew where I was before starting and was shocked that I was dropping weight hand over fist! I had been plateaued since September 2012 and by May I was down 30+ pounds. Remarkable!

I don’t live a true alkaline lifestyle, I can’t because of the carbs. There are fruits, vegetables, and plant protein that I cannot have at all. So, while low carb communities say “alkaline diet doesn’t work” and the alkaline community says “low carb diet doesn’t work” and both say you can’t do both together…I beg to differ 🙂 Because I live both.

604075_10151503656329014_1388497799_n

For my personal Facebook profile I created this Facebook cover photo and promote both lifestyles because it can be done!

A true alkaline lifestyle(not diet) is 80/20…80% of what you eat is alkaline. Fruits, vegetables and plant protein. 20% of what you eat is grains and meat. There are those you can’t live so strict and opt for the 70/30 ratio. The common complaint from people about either one of these ratios is they complain about feeling sick, which then they give up on continuing with the alkaline food. They say it doesn’t work, it made them feel worse. I’m not a chemist and science (while not a favorite subject in school) I did grasp it and health class a lot better than math. With that said, let me take you back to 4th grade science. *steps through the time warp dragging you with me*

Ok, it’s the 4th grade science fair, what do you see? Long tables lined with amazing finds from 4th graders: rocks, the best soil for growing plants, solar system, growing mold on wet and dry bread, electric fruit, clouds, antacid neutralization(awesome btw), blooming algae and oh yes…can’t forget the old faithful…baking soda volcano! Always loved those, especially when they would add food coloring to make the “lava” red. Very awesome!

Let’s stop here at the volcano, aces to all the kids who have done this project, what two ingredients when put together will make this volcano erupt? Anyone? Anyone? Baking soda and vinegar. Baking soda is alkaline and vinegar is acidic, two very basic ingredients. When you put the two together what happens? You get Mount Vesuvius! *watches the clay village people perish*

Alright time to go back through the time warp to 2013 🙂 Ok,what does that have to do with people not feeling well while eating alkaline food? Our bodies are like the bottle of vinegar, the alkaline food is like the box baking soda. When you start eating more alkaline food (cucumbers on salad, veggie wraps, a raw alkaline soup) there’s going to be a reaction between your body and the food. However, the longer you eat those alkaline foods the more neutralized your body will become and the fewer problems you will have with said food! It does take time, most people start out doing the 70/30 ratio and that’s fine. It’s a nice way to ease into an alkaline lifestyle, but what about folks such as myself who can’t handle the carb laden alkaline foods?

Here’s what I found that worked for me:

Because I’m not a huge vegetable fan, I have to have lower carbs, be gluten free, and I need my protein I decided to swap the meanings of the ratios. No longer did I think that 80/20 was 80% alkaline and 20% grains and meat, it was now 80% low carb and 20% alkaline. To further ease into the alkaline lifestyle I actually began with a 90/10 ratio. 90% of what I ate was lower carb(not Atkins or South Beach because both are full of soy) this included meat, and 10% of what I ate was alkaline. I did this for two weeks, that’s took me back to my 100% feeling better 🙂 I suffered very little discomfort at all, like I said I was feeling better than ever!

After those two weeks(which I called induction) I went to the 80/20 ratio. 80% lower carb and 20% alkaline. It worked even better! I began eating things like kale scrambled eggs and homemade turkey sausage for breakfast, low carb veggie wraps for lunch with the occasional slice of turkey deli meat, dinner was ginger turmeric chicken with kale and red onions. Now that I’ve been eating this way for months I am proud, happy, ecstatic to report that I no longer have stomachs pains (near my duodenum), I no longer have to take antacids, no more pepto bismal, no more tums, no more prilosec, I can go to bed knowing that I’m not going to wake up choking on my own acid reflux.

Sure there are things that I can no longer have. Coffee, tea, beef, pork, and anything made with artificial sweeteners. Those things are highly acidic and it’s no wonder that I had problems. I loved having at least three cups of coffee a day, two cups of unsweetened tea, eating burgers and Salisbury steak, bbq pork sandwiches, and sausage patties every morning, oh and I was addicted to sugar free jello pudding. It took a couple of months to get over the desire of wanting those things and coffee was the last thing I gave up. The headaches I would get from not having coffee stopped when I increased the alkaline food. No more migraines and I was prone to having at least 3–4 a week. Here it is July and any time I get a twinge of pain I turn to my trusty alkaline beverage.

Alkaline Lemonade

16 oz filtered water (alkaline water is best)

Stevia in the Raw

lemon juice (fresh or ReaLemon)

In a 16 ounce cup or bottle add the lemon juice and stevia in the bottom. Swirl gently to help dissolve the stevia, add water and stir completely. Add a few ice cubes and enjoy!

This has saved me from the debilitating migraines and various headaches that could have been. I drink this every day, especially if I know I’m going to indulge in acidic food. I begin to notice it’s effect after an hour, I’ve also used this to help with stomach acid. You’d think it wouldn’t work but lemons are actually alkaline, it’s all in the way our bodies digest the lemons. It’s through that process that the lemon becomes alkaline. Your metabolism will determine how quickly you’ll begin to feel it’s effects. For me I can tell a difference in an hour. There are no measurements in the above recipe because I leave that up to you and your preference. I like to have it a little more sweet so I tend to use up to 1/2 cup of stevia in the raw and 1/3 cup lemon juice.

The idea of living both lower carb and alkaline seems radical and very wrong. I’m a living testimony that it can be done. I’m losing the weight, I don’t have anymore stomach problems, and my energy is back up! I’m trying other vegetables that I’ve never had before, eating food with seasonings that I’ve never knew were actually good for me, and living a life that is healthier without it being a chore.

Whether or not you choose to go alkaline is up to you, but I think we can all agree that people do need to eat more vegetables and fruits. The trick is knowing which to eat and which ones to not eat to gain maximum effectiveness. Not everyone can eat potatoes, tomatoes, beets, carrots, and sweet bell peppers. If it has a high amount of natural fructose, yet it’s considered alkaline, it won’t be alkaline in your body. It will be acidic because of the natural sugar, so be careful and eat wisely! Please remember that we’re all different, what has worked for me may not work for you. We must all do what works best for ourselves.

Have a blessed day!

Amanda Gayle

One thought on “Go Alkaline…Wait, What?

  1. Pingback: Turn Your Acid Reflux Predicament Into A Positive Situation

Leave a Reply

