Health Check Tuesday: Water Check!

GarfieldCoffee_106

   Morning everyone, trust your Tuesday has been a good one so far! If not, stay positive and read a few Garfield funnies in the mean time 🙂

I used to be a huge coffee drinker, only recently beaten by my oldest nephew who can literally drink coffee all day long! If I didn’t get that first cup of coffee in the morning I would be Miss Grouchy Pants all day followed by a migraine to boot. When I had to start giving up coffee earlier this year it was tough, limiting myself to one weak cup of coffee a day…felt like I was losing it at one point. Each morning after coming down the stairs I would make a bee-line for the kitchen toward the carafe holding the liquid of sanity! One morning I woke up and found no coffee had been made, I was heartbroken. Knowing I needed to give it up anyway I turned to the only other thing I was supposed to be drinking more of–water.

Not my first choice of morning beverage but it has helped me in more ways than I give credit. We’ve all see that picture (below) that’s been floating around on social media sites. It shows the optimum time to drink water. When I showed it to my oldest nephew he scoffed and basically said forget that as he took a big swig of coffee. *sighs* Kids.

drinking water chart

I’ve admitted to not being a huge water fan, even to this day my Mom will get after me about needing to drink more water. I use to do the skin pinch test on my pinky finger, hold it for 10 seconds and release. My skin would just sit there, making no effort to go back down. Sad really, obviously indicating I wasn’t drinking enough water. So in the effort to becoming a healthier me I wanted to know just how much water was I supposed to be drinking every day. 8 glasses is a great start but a lot for someone who wasn’t used to it. I found a neat water consumption calculator (no guarantees to it’s accuracy) that bases your water consumption according to your weight. It’s a nice generalization, I wouldn’t take the results as hardcore fact (especially when they tell me I need 25 cups of water a day). I’m doing good to get about 6 cups a day on average, I include the alkaline lemonade in that and Dr. Mercola even counts the liquid you ingest from food. Makes sense.

Take note today about your water. Are you getting enough?

Amanda Gayle

Related Links::

Hydration Calculator–http://nutrition.about.com/library/blwatercalculator.htm

Exercise Water Loss Calculator–http://www.shapefit.com/calculators/exercise-water-loss-calculator.html

Water and Weight Loss–http://www.exercise4weightloss.com/water-and-weight-loss.html

 

6 thoughts on “Health Check Tuesday: Water Check!

  1. Heya great blog! Does running a blog such as this require a lot of work?
    I’ve absolutely no knowledge of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless I just had to ask. Thanks a lot!

    • Running a blog like this isn’t too difficult, I say that even though I’ve had a few snafus with the CSS coding which I don’t understand at all. Aside from the coding issues, it’s been a pleasant experience and one I encourage everyone to try! When I do run into a snag I either turn to the message boards for help which usually answer my questions or ask my tech person (aka Mom) because she had a background in HTML and understands coding better than I do. I’m not a technical person at all and not someone to come running to if there are any technical difficulties. I’m the kind of person that if I can’t click a button and see results then I am going to skip it all together. But I would definitely advise all new bloggers to check out the message boards when ever there is something you don’t quite understand. Many skilled people on there with more knowledge in the programming and coding issues 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and
    it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you
    few interesting things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

