Back in the Saddle Again…

Morning all, trust all my USA followers had a blessed 4th of July 🙂 We had a wonderful time with my brother’s family and loving on some sweet kiddos! Hoping we can get together again in five months for Christmas 🙂 That will be here in no time.

Saturday I started to come down with what I could only assume was a cold since I don’t have allergies. Woke up sneezing, inside of my nostrils burning, post nasal drip later on, sinus headache, and just that general run down feeling. But I was prepared to kick this cold’s butt…grabbed a bag of frozen broccoli, a small handful of grilled chicken strips and cooked it up seasoning it with ginger, turmeric, and a little soy sauce. Left the broccoli crisp to preserve the nutrients. Ate some strawberries and blueberries on the side sweetened with stevia and a splash of lemon juice. I felt better after eating that but I did nap for a couple of hours.

Yesterday I didn’t want to risk spreading the cold to someone else at church so I stayed home, had an alkaline/low carb lunch (zucchini noodles and chicken), by 5pm I was cold and couldn’t get warm. My wonderful boy brought me the afghan blanket my Mom made me and the new scarf I received from my sis in law. Wrapped up and again snoozed. Woke up drenched in sweat and fever obviously gone and severely parched. But I was feeling better, even this morning I’m feeling better than I did yesterday!

I say all of that to make the case for the alkaline lifestyle. It obviously works, if it didn’t then I would be worse today, high fever, and doped up on cold meds. Yesterday I took a total of three cordicidin just to help with the sneezing and runny nose symptoms, but if I hadn’t adhered to what I knew would kill the cold bug then I wouldn’t be writing today 🙂

In the wake of our patriotic holiday, food comas, and for some hangovers let’s make the right choices today toward better health. Instead of a second or third doughnut, have an apple. Choose a crisp tart apple that is relatively low in sugar (Granny Smith’s are the best).

If you’re in need of an energy boost eat some cucumber slices. While it is a watery vegetable(very hydrating), it has a purifying effect on the digestive system. You can also drink cucumber water, which is just “steeping” a few slices of cucumber in your cool water for an hour before drinking. Add some sliced lemon for added flavor!

Raw broccoli, kale, spinach, romaine lettuce, and escarole are just a few dark green vegetable choices that are high on the alkaline scale and full of amazing benefits. Make a tossed salad with all of the above, dress it up with a squeeze of lemon, a drizzle of olive oil, and a pinch of sea salt. It’s a light and refreshing lunch alternative to the heavier salads found in fast food restaurants, and a great boost for over all health! Especially when the benefits include:: Vitamin A, C, K, folate, potassium, fiber, manganese, magnesium, iron, and amino acids.

Other energizing alkaline foods that will help you through out the day are bananas, apricots, dried figs, dates, pineapple, and raisins. Carrots, beets, cabbage, cauliflower, and wheat grass will provide energy…plus they make yummy drinks when juiced!

Wishing you all a wonderful energized Monday!!!

 

One thought on “Back in the Saddle Again…

Leave a Reply

