Throw Back Thursday: Macaroni and Spam Casserole

Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam, Eggs, Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam…

Hehe, love Monty Python especially that skit! Spam has been around for 76 years, it first came on the scene back in 1937. World War II is when it became most popular, and from what I gathered Spam was being shipped to our Allies even before America even entered the War. In Hawai’i, Spam is a staple, everything from Spam and eggs to pineapple upside down cake with Spam. The average Hawaiian will eat about 16 cans of Spam a year, to me that’s a lot…1 can is a lot! Mom even told me about a M.A.S.H Spam episode, which luckily I found on youtube. Hehe…

Spam has taken on some new flavors over the years from Hot and Spicy to Spam with Bacon. My family buys it in bulk from Sam’s Club and I just happen to be the only one in the family who doesn’t like it. Everyone else likes it cooked up in a pan of butter and served with either mustard or mayo. I’m changing things up, I’m willing to try most things once so I can say I’ve tried it. That is as long as it doesn’t have 6–8 legs, fangs, slithers, or has thick scales and has to bask in the sun on a daily basis. Though Spam has gotten the reputation of “mystery meat” it actually isn’t mystery meat at all. The ingredients list is as follows:

Ham, pork, sugar, salt, water, potato starch & sodium nitrate.

At least I can pronounce all those things and don’t have do a Bing search to figure out what something is. Does that make it healthy? Well, I’ll let you be the judge of that. The notoriously congealed liquid in the can puts a lot of people off. That liquid is actually from a cooling process that comes from cooling the meat. Makes sense, it is after all pork, and if prepared properly the meat will be tender and juicy. It’s no different than Vienna Sausages (which I actually do love) and if it truly grosses you out just rinse it with warm water before preparing.

This is why I’m willing to try this macaroni and spam casserole.

(Photo courtesy of Mommy Savers)

There are two recipes that I’m interested in combining, one from Cook’s.com and the other Mommy Savers. Should be interesting 🙂 Here’s the one from Cook’s.com that I’ve already printed:

16 oz package macaroni

2 cans cream of celery soup

1 green pepper, chopped

1 sliced onion

1 large can Spam, cut into 1-inch cubes

1 large can stewed tomatoes

Cook macaroni as directed. Add rest of ingredients, spread cheese on top, if desired. Cook in 350 degree oven until heated through. Substitute Spam for leftover ham, chicken, or other meat.

Sounds pretty good, I’m going to make this tonight and give a review on here later. So be sure to check back!

Have a blessed day!!

What I did to combine the two recipes:

1 can Spam, cut into 1–inch cubes

1 onion, chopped

1 stick butter

5 Tblsp flour

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 can diced tomatoes, drained

4 ounces velveeta, chopped

8 ounces shredded cheese

1 can cream of chicken and mushroom soup

1 can cream of mushroom soup

2 cups milk

1 pound macaroni, cooked and drained

4 ounces crushed potato chips

2 cups shredded cheese (optional for top)

Boil macaroni noodles in large dutch oven, stirring occasionally. In large sauce pan melt butter, add chopped onions and cover with a lid. Cook onions till transparent. Whisk in flour completely and add milk. Continue to whisk to break up the rue. Add in canned soups, velveeta, Spam, drained tomatoes and black pepper. Whisk and if it becomes too thick too fast add in more milk as needed. Once velveeta is mostly melted add shredded cheese and continue to whisk now in one direction until cheese is completely melted. Check noodled for doneness and turn off the heat under the cheese sauce. Drain noodles and add back into pot. Pour cheese sauce over noodles and stir. Ladle into two pans, top both is cheese. Set one aside to freeze, cover the other one with crushed potato chips. Bake at 375 degrees F for 35 minutes or until chips are golden brown and bubbly around the edges. Remove, set aside for 10 minutes before serving. Enjoy with salad, dinner rolls, or garlic bread!

****************

REVIEW:

This dish was a high with the family! Because I combined two recipes, which by the way was a great idea, it made A LOT of food, enough for two casseroles. You can guess what I did 🙂

2013-07-25 19.03.49

One baked for dinner…

2013-07-25 19.04.00

One to freeze for next month! I didn’t have to bake this one though the cheese is melted, I was waiting for it to cool down before freezing and the cheese melted anyway. That’s ok 🙂

2013-07-25 19.14.24

Here’s my first bite *gulp* See the two bits of Spam?

2013-07-25 19.15.270

I’m going in…

2013-07-25 19.15.410

Yep, I tasted Spam…but I didn’t notice it so much when there was a piece of tomato with it.

2013-07-25 19.15.500

End result: Neh. I’m not a Spam person but it was ok. The other flavors were great!

2013-07-25 19.21.03

But I’m a good doobie, I ate it all and the rest of the family LOVED it! Mom, who grew up eating Spam, noted that the flavor wasn’t intense, the other flavors from the cheese, onion, and the potato chip topping seemed to mellow it out. She really liked it and wants me to make more tomorrow hehe.

I’ll give this dish two thumbs up because it was such a hit with the fam. Give it a try!

2 thoughts on “Throw Back Thursday: Macaroni and Spam Casserole

  1. I love the third look you have provided us!!! ❤ This sounds like something really good to try while eating it in front of the Monty Python song. 😀

Leave a Reply

