No Bake Chocolate Chip Granola Bars (Review)

Good morning everyone, last night I tried a delicious recipe for granola bars and everyone really enjoyed them. Even the 3 & 4 year olds I help teach on Wednesday night really like them!

I found the recipe at Lauren’s Latest blog—->CLICK HERE<—-. These were chewy, with the perfect amount of sweetness, and my own Mom commented that they tasted better than the store bought variety. I didn’t have any rice crispy cereal on hand so I crushed up multi-grain cheerios instead, and used raw honey that we keep on hand. After making one batch and seeing it wasn’t going to be enough I went ahead and made a second batch.

The first batch was made with remaining dark brown sugar. It was ok, the flavor of that batch was noticeably stronger. The second batch was made with light brown sugar and was a lot better (person opinion). Since I didn’t have mini chocolate chips on hand I used the regular and it worked just as well.

As for the stove top cooking method…I would encourage anyone not accustomed to cooking things to a soft ball stage to invest in a candy thermometer. I don’t think I cooked the binding liquid long enough according to directions. Thought followed the directions exactly I not used to cooking sugary syrups to a specific stage according to a time allotment. I even cooked it for the additional 15 seconds. Even at room temp the bars should have held up more firmly. I’ve already told “Santa” I expect a candy thermometer in my stocking this year 😉

All in all, it was a great recipe, made up quickly and everyone really loved them! Sorry I don’t have any pictures, I was hoping to get some this morning but my little man ate the last three before I could get to them. Yes they are that good! lol These would be great to add to your kid’s lunchbox, a healthier option to the chemical laden, high fructose versions at the store. If you can get your binding liquid to the the proper soft ball stage you could dip these in chocolate rather than pressing chocolate chips in them. Or drizzle melted chocolate over the tops. Just be sure to let them sit for the full two hours and do not press them out too thinly (that might been another factor in why mine were not holding up as well.) Need to experiment again 🙂

I hope you all will give these a try, be sure to let me know what you all think and how you’ve made them your own! And please be sure to head over to Lauren’s Latest to thank her for such a yummy recipe!!

Have a blessed day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

