Last Hoorah: Crock Pot Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Review

Hello everyone!

Hehe love Scrat, he’s so cute! Hope your week, thus far, has been a blessed one.

I’m no stranger to tater tot casseroles, it’s one of my favorites next to my Mom’s homemade mac–n–cheese. Especially when she adds three or more cheeses to her version, ain’t nothing else gonna compare to that. But what made me want to try this were a few things:

  1. It could be cooked in the crock–pot (that’s a plus)
  2. It has Rotel in it (a winner)
  3. It can be easily thrown together (just made me feel like I won the lottery)

Over at Tammielee Tips, she shared this yummy recipe on her blog, Crock Pot Tater Tot Casserole.

Crockpot Tater Tot Casserole 003

No picture could ever do this dish justice, honestly, and I’ve eaten many tater tot casseroles over the years. I really must thank Tammielee first of all for sharing such an amazing recipe, last night I had no idea that it would be such a huge hit! There were no leftovers! Most nights I’m lucky to get about two or three servings of leftovers from any dish but not last night. The crock pot was empty and for this ‘Bama Mama that’s a major shocker!

For starters, I decided to change out the meat option from beef to sausage. Seeing how I had made meatball sammies the night before I felt the family would like a little change. So, with that in mind I set my crock on low to help get it warmed up while I cooked a pound of sausage with the onion and Rotel. I didn’t drain off too much off of the grease as this would help keep the food from sticking in the crock pot. Before putting this browned up mixture into the crock I stirred in the can of soup and proceeded with the recipe. (I am thinking about adding a half a brick to a whole brick of cream cheese next time just for some added creaminess.)

Once in the crock I added the frozen tater tots and without thinking I added salt and pepper to them as if I were baking them in the oven. It’s a habit lol Shrugging that brain glitch off to the side I let it cook for about three hours and in the last 30 minutes of the baking time I added the shredded cheese. Already the house was smelling very yummy at this point! My oldest nephew asked me several times if dinner was ready yet 🙂

Vegetable of choice was green beans, very simple. Just drain them slightly, add a couple tablespoons of butter and some pepper. Cook till hot and serve.

Crockpot Tater Tot Casserole 001    Crockpot Tater Tot Casserole 003

During dinner Dad asked me what I had put in there to make it spicy. After assuring him it was just a can of Rotel he said it was very good 🙂 Certain family members even went back for seconds. It’s amazing how something so simple without a lot of flare can be such a winner! Overall this recipe was easy, quick, and so simple that really anybody could throw it together and have a hearty meal within 2–3 hours. No need to thaw anything, just cook up your meat with some veggie, toss it into the slow cooker and serve it up with your favorite sides. I highly recommend this to all busy mom’s out there!!

I think this is definitely going to be enjoy time and time again in our family. Please be sure to head on over to Tammielee Tips to leave your feedback if you do decide to try it! Just don’t be surprised if there aren’t any leftovers later 😉

Have a blessed day!!

3 thoughts on “Last Hoorah: Crock Pot Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Review

  1. I’m actually cooking this right now but after reading your review I’m concerned. I didn’t cook the onions with the meat! I just chopped them up and mixed it in with the already browned meat. Do u think they will still be crunchy? I hope not. 😦

Leave a Reply

