Throw Back Thursday: Dutch Butter Cookies

Good morning everyone! Feeling somewhat better today, woke up a couple of hours before my alarm but that’s typical. I’m just glad it’s Thursday, this weekend we’ve got some more apples from a friend to use up. I’m thinking applesauce, fried pies, and some more crock pot apple butter(maybe). We shall see!

Today’s throw back Thursday recipe is from an old cookbook that my Mom has had for as long as I can remember. And you can tell a cookbook is well used when it opens directly to a specific recipe every single time!

Dutch Butter Cookies 002   This cookie cookbook is well used, especially when the only thing we make from it are Dutch Butter Cookies 😉 These are even better than sugar cookies, they aren’t very sweet and are easily doubled! Which is exactly what I did yesterday!

The original recipe is as follows::

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 cups flour

Cream butter in a medium mixing bowl; gradually add sugar, beating until light and fluffy. Add egg, and beat well. Gradually stir in flour: (Dough will be sticky.)

Divide dough in half. Place each portion of dough in well–greased 8–inch square pans. With floured hands, press dough into pans.

Place pans in a cold oven. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Remove from oven, and cut into 2–inch squares while warm. Remove from pans, and cool on wire racks. Yields 3 dozen.

It’s a very simple recipe, and I’ve only followed the exact recipe a handful of times. But because this is such a hit in our family I’ve had to double the recipe and use a big sheet pan. It’s worth it in the end 🙂

Dutch Butter Cookies 003    Dutch Butter Cookies 004

Here I have four sticks of butter, rather than two. They were somewhat softened, so I stuck them in the microwave for 15 seconds and as you can see in the second picture they were softened up nicely. I go ahead and add the sugar in before I start, it mixes up the same.

Dutch Butter Cookies 005    Dutch Butter Cookies 006

After a couple of minutes of beating the butter and sugar together, add in the eggs and mix completely. *Sorry the second photo is darker, but those are the beaters in action*

Dutch Butter Cookies 008

My beater cleaner to the rescue! Once the eggs are mixed in and the mixture is a soft yellow and very fluffy you won’t be needing the beaters anymore.

Dutch Butter Cookies 009    Dutch Butter Cookies 010

Add the flour, if you’re using a large enough mixing bowl you’ll be able to add in both cups of flour. Since I doubled the recipe I had four cups of flour to work with so a large bowl is a must!

Dutch Butter Cookies 011    Dutch Butter Cookies 012

Commence folding…simply you start in the middle and fold away from you. Come back around toward yourself, gathering the mixture gently with the spoonula/spatula to fold back into the center. I caution you: if you are not used to action get ready for a slight workout. As you work this dough it does stiffen up slightly and becomes thick.

Dutch Butter Cookies 013    Dutch Butter Cookies 014

Almost there in the first photo, once you get all the flour incorporated you’ll have a sticky-ish dough that you should be able to pinch and hold. It really isn’t any difference from your average cookie dough consistency.

Dutch Butter Cookies 015    Dutch Butter Cookies 016

Now comes the fun part, on a foil lined pan (I always use Reynold’s Release Foil) dump out the butter cookie dough. Don on some gloves (if you like), keep your flour handy and begin to pat out the dough. Try not to get carried away with the flour though, you only need to flour your hands, you don’t actually apply the flour directly on the dough. Make sure to keep your edges even, and level out the dough as much as possible.

Dutch Butter Cookies 017

Before placing in the oven I decided to score the dough in half and sprinkle one side with blue and orange colored sugar. Since this isn’t a very sweet cookie I wanted to be sure that three and four year old kiddies would enjoy them. I don’t know of any child that doesn’t like colored sugar, it’s enticing and fun to lick off (which many of them did last night lol). Bake at the same temp (350 degrees) but it took about 25-30 minutes to get it lightly browned.

And while it was baking I had a brilliant idea for a photo shoot….I only hinted at what I did when I shared it with my Mom. Hehe, it was so fun! It’s amazing what a few kitchen alphabet magnets, a sheet, mini plates and glasses, and some sprinkles can do. Here are some pictures 😀

Dutch Butter Cookies 019    Dutch Butter Cookies 020

Dutch Butter Cookies 021

Dutch Butter Cookies 028    Dutch Butter Cookies 041

Dutch Butter Cookies 057

Dutch Butter Cookies 050    Dutch Butter Cookies 056

Dutch Butter Cookies 054    Dutch Butter Cookies 060

Dutch Butter Cookies 068

Dutch Butter Cookies 075   Dutch Butter Cookies 074

You will no doubt fall in L–O–V–E with these cookies, you can make up a bunch and share with your friends, co-workers and neighbors. Hope you all enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Throw Back Thursday: Dutch Butter Cookies

  1. I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading very
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it
    a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    • Could be server issues, I tend to have problems myself. If I’m on my iPod it can be a hit of miss some days. Hope things start working for you soon 🙂 Thank you for stopping by though, I appreciate it!

  2. Pingback: A TBT Celebration!!! | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

