PCOS and Low Carb Recipe

PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) is something that can go undetected in a woman for quite some time. Reason being because not every woman will have the same exact symptoms or experience any of the symptoms with the same degree of intensity. There is no cookie cutter diagnosis for this, what is known is a basic checklist that doctors tend to stick with.

  • Irregular/no periods–Anywhere from 9 periods a year to none could signify PCOS. Some women get regular periods but do not ovulate. When periods do come they are typically very heavy. Though some do experience very little to no cramping, it depends on every woman. Each month is never going to be same, for me I alternate between heavy and barely there. Where cramps double me over in pain or leave me wondering if I’m actually having my monthly cycle at all. I have had months where I skip my period all together, but that’s less often now since I treat the symptoms naturally.
  • Acne–this isn’t your run of the mill teenage acne or I forgot to remove my make up acne. This type of acne is very often difficult to cure with topical treatment.

  • Hair Loss–Some PCOS women tend to experience a male pattern baldness. Others just have to do deal with some annoying hair loss. Not just a few strands, I’m talking handfuls, cleaning the hairbrush only to fill it up again after brushing your hair the next time. It can be very depressing, difficult to manage, and embarrassing.

  • Facial/Back/Chest/Stomach Hair Growth–Understanding that everyone to a certain point has hair growth in those areas. Peach fuzz isn’t the problem. What makes this abnormal is when the hair that is growing is longer than just peach fuzz, covering large areas on the chest, back, neck, and face. I used to tell myself that all women grow hair on their breasts and between them and that it was perfectly normal. Boy was I wrong! Thanks to the higher levels of testosterone women like me get to deal with extra hair growth in areas that it shouldn’t be. There are ways to deal with it, manage, and ultimately remove it but the latter is very expensive and no guarantee that it will last.
  • Obesity–It’s easy to assume someone is overweight because she overeats. That she doesn’t know how to say no to junk food and doesn’t care about her health. Couldn’t be further from the truth. PCOS works against the female body, it makes it extremely difficult to lose the weight but oh so easy to gain it. Especially in the midsection!

  • Infertility–PCOS can greatly hinder your chances for getting pregnant, but one thing that most women do not realize is that conceiving a child when you have endocrine issues isn’t fair to the child. I should know, I have a child and he’s got a less than stellar thyroid and some weight issues. I don’t personally want to have any more kids for fear of passing on a worse endocrine disorder and possible infertility issues on to more children. I can’t stand having it myself and knowing that my child has it to a degree pains me. I know having a baby is beautiful, wonderful, they are a gift from God, but in the end it isn’t worth passing on similar disorder to future offspring and perpetuating the problem.
  • High cholesterol and blood pressure–True you don’t have to have PCOS to have this, but PCOS women are more prone to it because of how PCOS affects the body overall. This is why diets don’t work, one must change the way one eats for life. Whole foods, gluten-free, lower carbs, limiting or removing artificial sweeteners all together. Going as organic as possible, natural isn’t enough especially with the meat.

Lower Carb Recipe:

Tonight, Dad decided to grill out for Labor Day weekend. He did up some steaks for him and the boys, and I marinated some boneless chicken breasts which were fabulous!

Grilled Chicken Salad 001

After thawing three chicken breasts, I rinsed them and patted them dry. Rubbed my favorite McCormick grill seasoning on both sides, placed them into a quart size ziploc bag with a splash of lemon juice, some peanut oil, a little dried rosemary and dried thyme. Mush it around and let it marinade for two hours turning the bag over every half hour.

I let Dad work his grill magic and it all came out tender, juicy, not dry at all, and full of flavor!

Grilled Chicken Salad 002Β Β Β  Grilled Chicken Salad 004

Grilled Chicken Salad 009

This can be served up with your favorite vegetables and dressing. I kept it simple, a little tomato, organic cucumbers, and some ranch dressing. I am kicking myself for not having made extra for the rest of the week but Friday will be here before I know it πŸ˜‰

The only carbs that I can think of that are present in this dish is from the dressing and tomatoes. If you have been good all day that little bit isn’t going to do too much damage. Add some berries if you like, pine nuts for a little extra nutty crunch, and use your favorite dressing (I know blue cheese is popular with many).

Happy eating!

8 thoughts on “PCOS and Low Carb Recipe

  1. There should be as many vegetables as possible and fruits as well. The point isn’t no-carb it’s no-bad-carbs. We weren’t made to eat grains. For women with PCOS it is also a good idea to forgo the dairy products as they’re filled with hormones.
    I’m not sure the ranch dressing fullfills PCOS criteria.

    • Morning Gry Ranfelt, thank you so much for stopping by and responding to my post πŸ™‚

      After being diagnosed with PCOS back in 2000, I’ve had thirteen years of trial and error (mostly error) in figuring out what works best for me. Though I’ve had PCOS all my life, it was not discovered till I was 18 and certain symptoms had manifested rendering me out of commission for school and various activities. It was then my Mom took me to her GYN and we learned what I was suffering from. I went down the route of popping pills and sticking to a strict regime of exercise and diet. But after bloating, having a menstrual cycle lasting for a week and half each month, and becoming anemic that I decided to change it up and find a more natural solution.

      I agree 100% that there should be a good variety of vegetables and fruits as well, however it is a good idea to make sure that they are lower in carbs. Anything that is naturally high in fructose will only do more harm than good for those who are unable to handle them. This is why I stick with mostly berries and specifically strawberries and blueberries.
      They are a little more alkaline too!

      I do not advocate no carbs, the only time I would advise someone to restrict their carbs to that degree is if they are like my Mom who absolutely cannot tolerate more than 10 carbs a day. At that point the complex carbs on a daily basis isn’t even a good idea. People like my Mom complain of not feeling well after consuming a complex carbs everyday.
      We’re all so different and should listen to our bodies, becoming familiar with what we can handle and what we cannot. And I do agree that grains, especially the GMO variety, are not healthy. This is why I have to stay gluten-free. It’s not easy since it’s practically in everything, even foods that you wouldn’t normally think would have gluten in it. It’s made me a label reader, drives people crazy but it’s a must, you know?!

      Since I’m lactose-intolerant I shun most dairy. The only dairy I allow myself is the occasional salad dressing on my salad or the once in a blue moon serving of Activia yogurt. I try so hard to limit things and only allow certain “treats” once in a while knowing that a single serving isn’t going to do too much harm, unlike indulging on it every day. Now if the dairy is raw (which means the meat will be organic) there is no harm in that because those cows have not been injected with hormones or medications. I’m not privileged to live near a raw dairy farmer at present, but I do hope that some day I can try raw milk and reap its benefits.

      I have limited myself on so many things and when I stick to it I feel so much better. I live a lower carb, alkaline, gluten free, mostly dairy free, soy free, and GMO free lifestyle that it really doesn’t leave me with a whole lot of options. I don’t think all PCOS women should do as I am doing, there maybe a woman out there who can handle the carbs a little better than I can, or someone who doesn’t have any issues with dairy or gluten. The various phenotypes of PCOS can allow some women to have things that others may not. There is no one-size fits all solution for anyone, the cookie cutter diets do not work for everyone. This is why it’s important to figure out what works for you(meaning the PCOS Cyster) and promote overall healthful eating and staying active.

      Thank you again for stopping by, I love hearing from people and hope to hear more from you (and others) in the future!

      Have a blessed day πŸ™‚

      • I like your open mind πŸ™‚ It is true that people have different bodies and different needs. I myself am pretty much a raw vegan which means I eat fruits throughout the day and veggies + some sort of plant fat at night. I feel great doing this but actually don’t know how it affects my PCOS. I have no signs of PCOS except not having my period, and as I have been on birth control ever since discovering PCOS I have no way of telling if things are getting better.
        I’m going to try a water fast, though, now that I have stopped the pill. I have heard several women affirm having removed tumors and cysts and becoming fertile by doing it.
        But I HAVE done something like what you’re doing. I didn’t feel that great. I mainly ate veggies, eggs, fish, chicken and nuts. While these things do fill you up I always felt like I didn’t have enough energy.
        I love your spirit! Keep battling this thing πŸ˜€

      • Thank you so much, I greatly appreciate your encouragement and knowing that I’m not alone out there in spreading the word!

        The alkaline lifestyle has helped me feel better overall but I have to couple it with a lower carb lifestyle which doesn’t sound doable but in fact works for me. I tried going a tad more vegan once and it made me feel horrible. That’s why I’ve had a lot of errors in finding what actually works for me πŸ™‚ And further proves that there is no one size fits all solution. So happy you are trying new things, I know it can be hard at times figuring out what is going to work for life, but keep up the good fight!

        Take care Cyster!!

  2. Pingback: Hello World! It’s Me!! | It's A Beautiful Day

  3. Thank you for posting this!!

    Very informative! Feel bad for that woman who looked like a man~ can’t imagine the ridicule back then… 😦

    • I know, every time I see those pictures my heart breaks because I know what it’s like to have to deal with that kind of hair growth. It’s embarrassing and to be treated like a freak over something you can’t control is beyond cruel. This is why it’s so important that we embrace all these women and support one another through these difficult times! Thank you so much for stopping by πŸ™‚ Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

