Egg Muffins

Morning everyone. I am typing up this post through the wordpress app on my ipod. I’m sorry that my pictures aren’t top quality, I didn’t want to get the regular camera out this morning. Those of you following me on Facebook are going to be seeing this recipe twice this morning, sorry about that. There’s a reason why I don’t get up before 8am lol my brain wasn’t engaged earlier. I’ll be ready for a nap this afternoon for sure!

However, I’m glad I woke up at 5am *collective gasp*, it allowed me to make my Dad some breakfast for a change 🙂 After watching Duck Dynasty last night I felt like Jase this morning. Making all kinds of noise in the kitchen, and by 5:30 Dad was getting up and I was waiting for him to scold me as Willie had Jase, hehe but he didn’t, he went about his morning with his coffee and bible reading 🙂 Me…well, I made egg muffins and kept them simple, something that could be fixed in bulk and grabbed quickly in the mornings. Plus you can add veggies and other seasonings of your choice.

20130905-073647.jpg

Here’s what you’ll need:

10 eggs
1/2 pound sausage, cooked and drained
Cheese
Dried parsley, dried minced onion, salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. grease and lightly flour a 12 cup muffin tin. The flour will help it to not stick. Whisk eggs in medium bowl with parsley, minced onions, salt and pepper. Set aside.

In a skillet over medium heat brown up the sausage;drain well on paper towels.

20130905-073855.jpg

Spoon the sausage into each cup and top with a pinch of cheese. Ladle the whisked eggs about 2/3 full.

20130905-074006.jpg

Bake for 20-30 minutes or until tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool for a couple of minutes and turn out onto cooling rack or lined cookie sheet. Serve immediately and enjoy!

20130905-074102.jpg

You can use any flour you like, gluten free, almond, coconut, or regular. I used a little of regular since that’s all we have at the moment. I barely put a tablespoon of flour into each cup and the excess was tapped out into the garbage can leaving a lightly dusted pan to fill. 

If you’re wondering what I grease the pan with, I used an organic palm shortening. You can use organic coconut oil(the expeller pressed that doesn’t have any coconut flavor), or a spray if you prefer. I like using the palm shortening when I bake, there’s no flavor or distinct odor which makes it a versatile product to use. The egg muffins came out beautifully after baking, a slight outer crust on the outside and not a single one was stuck to the pan. These will freeze nicely, which then all you’ll need to do is thaw and warm up for a quick breakfast on the go. Doesn’t get much better than that!

Hope you enjoy and have a blessed morning 🙂

 

One thought on “Egg Muffins

  1. Pingback: Book Nook Freebie & Friday Food Saving Tip | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

