Cinnamon Pancakes (or Squares) Recipe & Review

Afternoon everyone! I’m loving this more temperate weather, though I’m still waiting for that first hard freeze 🙂 Last night just as I was getting ready for bed I found a spider on the wall behind the lamp. I’m no longer freaked about spiders, unless they are as big as my hand and then all bets are off!  There was no good way for me to move the lamp without spooking the spider into retreat so I got out the bug spray and went to town spraying around my nightstand table, under it, under my bed, around my windows, and even in my bathroom where they like to come in at. I’m really tired of my room becoming the “hang out place” for these pesky vermin. Really praying for colder temperatures to arrive soon so I can have a break from them, be nice to not have to check my room every night for some unwanted creepy crawly tenet or spray citronella around my bed to keep the mosquitoes away. 

After spraying my room down I slept on the sofa, to allow the poisonous spray to settle down. Fingers crossed my buggy intruder is dead and I can enjoy a more peaceful rest from here on out. Yeah, I’m not a bug fan, you know growing up as the youngest of three sibs I got picked on and teased a lot. I have such fond memories of being chased with bugs by my two older siblings and finally all they had to do was pinch their fingers together, run after me and say “bugga, bugga, bugga”. Fun times. 

Since I bunked downstairs in the family room, I woke up earlier than I’m accustomed to, so I decided to make some pancake squares for breakfast. Not low carb, I know, and definitely not alkaline friendly, but hey I like treating my kid every now and then! But, I didn’t want to fix the usual recipe. Wanted to try something new 🙂 I found a recipe on Food.com called Cinnamon Pancakes. I didn’t deviate from the recipe, kept everything the same…except I made squares instead of individual rounds. Very simple and easy to put together! Perfect for any busy school morning.

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
4 1/2 teaspoons brown sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 eggs
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter

Combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder and cinnamon.
Combine eggs, milk and butter, stir into dry ingredients just until combined.
Pour batter by 1/3 cupfuls onto a lightly greased hot griddle.
Sprinkle with additional cinnamon (if desired).
Turn when bubbles form on top of pancakes.
Cinnamon Pancake Squares with Caramel Sauce 001    Cinnamon Pancake Squares with Caramel Sauce 003
On the left I mixed the dry ingredients together with a fork; sat it aside. Prepared the wet ingredients, love the foamy texture. I think I need to make mention, the butter needs to be melted which the recipe does not instruct. Otherwise you’re going to have issues adding it to your milk and eggs. Once the butter is melted, I kept the beaters going on low as I slowly poured the butter into the mix and eggs. I kept mixing until I felt it was all incorporated and a nice frothy layer formed.
Cinnamon Pancake Squares with Caramel Sauce 004    Cinnamon Pancake Squares with Caramel Sauce 005
If you don’t want your dry ingredients dusting your kitchen, pour the wet ingredients over the dry. With your beaters off, gently mix to  get it started and then turn them on low to finish mixing until just combined. That just means you’re going to have a few flour pockets here and there. This is ok, as it bakes those disappear. You don’t want to compromise the integrity of your batter by over mixing it. Otherwise you’ll end up with flat chewy pancakes and nobody likes those. After mixing, I lined an 8×8 inch square baking pan with release foil (you could spray your pan if you prefer or use coconut oil), added the batter and baked in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Depending on your oven you may need to cook it more or less, keep that in mind. You’ll know it’s done when the top has cracked and when a tooth pick is inserted in the center comes out clean.
Cinnamon Pancake Squares with Caramel Sauce 006    Cinnamon Pancake Squares with Caramel Sauce 008
You can serve these up with syrup, caramel sauce (as pictured), chocolate sauce, or a yummy cream cheese frosting! I felt that the only thing missing were some pecans and maybe some pumpkin puree 😀 These were a huge hit with my child who wasn’t too sure about them at first. And in fact he told me that I should have made the cinnamon roll ones instead. He came around in the end and gave me a two thumbs up 😀 Baking them up will yield 9 squares, if you need more the recipe can be easily doubled and bake on a jelly roll pan. You can freeze any leftovers to have for another breakfast, just warm up in the microwave. Enjoy them with your favorite breakfast meat, maybe a fried egg on the side. These are definitely a keeper! Hope you all enjoy 🙂
Leave a Reply

