Cheesy Baked Eggs on Toast (Throw Back Thursday Variation)

It’s a beautiful day outside here in Huntsville, AL. A slight breeze stirring the leaves, it’s nice to sit here and take in the view. I’m not much of a city gal, at heart I’m all country. Tapping into my inner country self I went in search for a vintage egg recipe, something I hadn’t tried before. That’s when I found this:

42-cent-egg-lunch-vintage-ad-recipe-jbcurio-flickr

At first I thought I could actually eat this, that it would be a doable meal, but I confess I’m not a fan of meringue. I cannot stand it’s frothy texture, while the picture looks deliciously tempting I just couldn’t bring myself to make it. Instead I did my own variation which produced some pleasing results.

baked cheesy eggs on toast 012

All you need:

2 eggs, whisked

1 tblsp butter

1 slice of American cheese

2 slices of homemade bread, toasted and buttered

Toast two slices of bread to a preferred doneness, I like mine lightly toasted. Butter lightly, or use margarine if you prefer. Place onto a lined baking pan and set aside.

In a small pan melt your butter over medium heat. Whisk your eggs in a bowl until they are very bubbly on top. You could use a blender if you like, this helps to make the eggs lighter and fluffier. Pour your eggs into your buttered pan and gently cook them, folding and stirring until they are halfway cooked. Tear up the American cheese slice and continue to fold the eggs until mostly cooked. Carefully spoon your cheesy eggs onto the toast slices and place in a 350 degree oven for 5 minutes. The idea is to set the eggs a bit more, not over cook them or brown them.

baked cheesy eggs on toast 034   baked cheesy eggs on toast 023

Once finished let it cool slightly and enjoy with your favorite breakfast meat(pictured are a few turkey and sausage breakfast balls), fruit, or yogurt. It will be a great meal to serve on the weekends, to your overnight guests or at your next ladies brunch! The bread is what truly makes the dish, so be sure to use the best!!

Have a blessed day 🙂

Leave a Reply

