Chicken Vegetable Chowder (Recipe and Review)

Up late over here, still a bit wired so I thought I’d finally take a break from my project to write up this post. Would have had it up sooner, as promised, but I got caught up in a couple of old cookbooks 🙂 Sometimes they are better than novels, no joke! Especially the older books. the ones that belonged to my Great-Grandmother. I did find one recipe I plan to make in the morning for breakfast, on top of few dozen more that will be perfect for the fall. I guess most of them could be considered vintage or retro, I have some research ahead of me just to be sure 🙂

So, who’s ready for some chicken corn chowder? I love soup, must be my Irish background, and I’m a HUGE fan of corn chowder! The first one I ever made was from a Depression recipe, uber good made with homemade corn stock and corn cut right off the cob. Tonight I tried a different recipe, one that I could tinker with. Here’s the original recipe from Food.com::

2 2/3 tablespoons butter
1/3 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup chopped celery
1 1/3 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
2 2/3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
4 cups 2% low-fat milk
2 2/3 cups chopped, cooked boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 cups fresh corn kernels or 2 cups frozen corn kernels
1 1/3 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme or 1/3 teaspoon dried thyme
1/3 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (19 2/3 ounce) cans cream-style corn

Melt butter in a large Dutch oven over medium heat.
Add onion, celery and jalapeno, cook for 3 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently.
Add flour, cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.
Stir in milk and remaining ingredients.
Bring to boil, cook until thick, about 5 minutes.

Not that I don’t like spicy food, I am a lover of pickled habanero peppers with onions on a sandwich or on a turkey burrito, but tonight I didn’t want to go there. I left out the jalapeno, added two chopped carrots, used 1 can of regular corn, 1 can of green beans, 1 can of leisure peas, and 1 can of sliced potatoes. Since we don’t keep regular milk in the house I would up using 2 cups heavy cream and 2 cups water plus 2 cups chicken stock. 

September Recipes 025

I first started with a mirepoix, a mixture of onions, celery, and carrots cooked in a tablespoon of oil and two tablespoons of butter. Cooked until mostly tender. 

September Recipes 026    September Recipes 027

Added the flour to the cooked vegetables, poured the liquids in and let it cook to thicken. Already had chicken boiling on the stove, grabbed about seven small breasts and chopped them up. By adding the extra chicken stock to the pot had to let the liquids reduce a bit more, but trust me the extra chicken flavor is worth it! You can leave out the water if you choose to use milk, reduce the milk and add in the stock.

September Recipes 028

Season with salt and pepper, add in the corn, peas, green beans and potatoes. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and allow to simmer for 10-15 minutes. Stir occasionally.

September Recipes 029

It turns out to be a chunky soup, be prepared!

September Recipes 031    September Recipes 035

It is a hearty soup chowder, family really enjoyed it. There were enough leftovers for three individual servings. You can serve this us with your favorite dinner rolls, because trust me you’ll want something to sop up that creamy chowder sauce. My oldest nephew was so impressed he was eager to have a third serving, he is obviously feeling better now and has his appetite back 🙂 He couldn’t get enough of it! This is definitely a keeper.

What other soups do you absolutely have to make during the autumn season? Anyone have a tasty recipe for butternut squash soup?!

Hope you enjoy, happy eating!!

4 thoughts on “Chicken Vegetable Chowder (Recipe and Review)

    • Yes, chowder is a nice thick soup, creamy due to the starches from the potatoes and flour which help to thicken it up. While chowders are typically made with seafood and fish (ie clam chowder) I prefer making chowders with chicken and vegetables. I hope you enjoy 🙂 You can add any vegetables you like, spice it up with red chili flakes or add cheese to it like my Mom did last night 🙂 Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

