TBT: Egg Roshty (Rosti)–Recipe and Review

Hello sugar plums πŸ™‚ It has been a great day so far, woke up around 7am and decided to make my boy some chocolate glazed poor man’s donuts (or bonuts…made from biscuits), spent some time catching up with a few folks online, answering emails, private messages, and taking in the view from our bonus room window. Just a lovely day outside…

Tuesday I went rummaging through my Mom’s cookbook collection in her office area (we have a lot of cookbooks and not enough room to keep them all in one place). That’s when I came across a 1986 Kidron Mennonite Church cookbook, thumbing through the sections I happened upon a recipe by a Martha Sommer called Egg Roshty. I’m not too sure that’s the correct spelling, hence why I added Rosti to the title. After some research I found out that rosti is traditionally made from shredded potatoes.

800px-Roesti Β Β  It is a popular dish in Switzerland, whereas it was a more common dish for Swiss farmers on the German side. This made it that more special for me to make it since a few of my Mom’s ancestors were most likely from that area πŸ™‚ With that bit of knowledge in my back pocket, I gathered my ingredients for the egg roshty version and here is what I got!

3 eggs

1 c. milk

Bread

Beat eggs and add milk. Cube enough bread to soak up the egg mixture. Fry with fat in skillet.

That was all the recipe said, no other measurements, no other instructions on how to prepare this for frying. So I went with my intuition and that was to fry in batches or into patties.

photo(5)

Top L–R: Frying Egg Roshty in oil, Plated warm Egg Roshty’s.
Bottom L–R: Syrup covered Egg Roshty, All Gone πŸ™‚

If you’re wondering, I added the watermark myself thanks to a handy little app on my iPod. The result of adding the cubed bread to the egg and milk mixture was actually no different than that of french toast. Since there were no instructions on how big to make the patties I used a 1/2 measuring cup, but I think it would be better with a 1/4 measuring cup. I used peanut oil and butter, added a tiny sprinkle of stevia to the raw side that was facing up in the first picture. Flip it over after it gets golden brown on one side. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO FLIP IT TOO EARLY, otherwise it will fall apart and make a mess. Once it’s done frying you can then place it on a plate with or without a paper towel, and enjoy with your favorite syrup. The kind of bread you choose to use will determine the success of this dish. If you prefer a french bread you could certainly use that or just a good homemade bread.

I wound up using about 6 slices of low carb bread to get, what I felt, was the right consistency, I wouldn’t use more than 8 slices unless you want a dryer rosti. This particular recipe made 6 rosti patties. If you have a large enough dish you could bake this in a moderate oven (350 degrees until golden brown) instead, however the word Rosti mean roast or fry. I’m wondering if a well seasoned cast iron skillet would be the best thing to bake or roast this in!

All in all, this was delicious and since I’m a lover of french toast anyway I found it to be a tasty breakfast. You can play with some seasonings, adding some pumpkin pie spice for the fall, top it off with cooked cinnamon apples, or your favorite fruit syrup. Then again, sticking with tradition, go savory with minced garlic, caramelized onions, a little parsley for color, and some crisp bacon crumbled over the top πŸ™‚ Make a nice meal alongside a roasted sticky chicken and salad! Whichever way you decide to go, just be sure to have fun, because cooking is fun! It’s exciting and therapeutic even πŸ™‚

Happy Eating!!

One thought on “TBT: Egg Roshty (Rosti)–Recipe and Review

  1. Hello and thank you for visiting πŸ™‚ I’m glad the site is visually appealing, that’s very important to me too! No I didn’t hire a web designer, can’t afford to. The wonderful thing about WordPress is that they offer page designs that you can either pay for or get for free. While I did purchase the original design, I have since altered the background to fit my personal taste. Thank you again πŸ™‚ Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

