Homemade Strawberry Muffins

Well, I had the best of intentions in getting this post out on Thursday but life took over 🙂 After doing school with G–Man we spent the rest of the afternoon doing fall crafts: 3D pumpkins, creating fally spiders (as he called them), and even created a peek–a–boo picture called Who’s Inside? We didn’t just do that, we had our own little “picnic” in the bonus room too! He was such a sweetie, brought me some lemonade, turkey sausage patties that he warmed up in the microwave and a strawberry muffin I had made that morning. That last part wasn’t low carb but he was sweet to share it with me 🙂 To end our afternoon he finger combed my hair, which reaches down to my waist now, while we talked and I checked my online messages. I wish every day could be as nice as that 🙂 It most certainly won’t be forgotten any time soon that’s for sure!

After I got him off to bed tonight and set about doing the dishes I thought hard about whether or not I should take the time tonight to write this post. With pruny fingers, I sit here thinking about what all needs to be done in the morning, for the weekend, what I will need to get this weekend for the Missions Conference…yet I don’t want to be stingy and not share this amazing recipe with you 🙂 True I’ve been up since 4am and running on fumes, but I promise you this recipe is worth it in the end! I had to try them out on the guys to see if it might be something I could take as a snack for the Conference visitors. I think I hit the nail on the head!

As my Dad was leaving this morning to go to an important meeting, I urged him to take a muffin with him. We went through our usual teasing. I promised him that he would like it, he assured me it would make him puke lol I love him! A few minutes after he had left I get a text from him saying it was very good! S–U–C–C–E–S–S! It’s the way we spell SUCCESS!! No doubt 100 times better than the muffins that were available at his meeting 😀 But of course, homemade is always better, derp!

Well, since the recipe makes a dozen I’m happy to say there is only one left. My child alone ate four muffins and is wanting more, I’m definitely making more this weekend to take for the Conference snack room (and to leave here for G–Man). I was pleased with their texture, light, fluffy, full of strawberry goodness! Since I originally intended for this to be a Throw Back Thursday post I had a bit of muffin history all ready to share. Don’t worry, we’ll get to the recipe soon 🙂

Muffin itself comes from the word moufflet, an ancient French word that called for bread, moufflet this means soft, muffin is because a softer texture than bread in general.

The word muffin itself was introduced in the early 18th century and became known muffin recipe in the mid-18th century. actually there is always confusion between muffins and crumpets (cake unsweetened) either in the recipe or name. Muffin usually means one of the products derived from bread and distinct from the more toward crumpest pancakes.

Muffin itself became popular during the 19th century when the muffins begin to serve at teatime. In ordinary English muffin is made from yeast dough. Muffins are usually enjoyed in the winter along with a cup of hot tea, muffins are also usually equipped with butter and eaten with jam. In the era of Victoria, muffins, cakes sold by the seller in the streets over the food tray and placed it above their heads, they are also used to ring the bell at the hands of prospective customers to call them.

Meanwhile in North America, a muffin is very different, the material is essentially the baking powder, and muffins are usually made in deep patty (muffin) tins. Even if there is no wheat flour, cornmeal and bran (bran or husk) can be a substitute. Unlike the American serving the muffins for breakfast or as part of the dinner, in the UK which is famous for the tradition of serving afternoon tea muffins for tea. Even the muffins in England known as the “tea cakes”. In English muffin own name unknown origin but there are likely to come from Germany muffe low word which means cake. The word is published in England in 1703 and Hannah Glasse in 1747 wrote a muffin recipe in the recipe book. — Sooper Articles dot com

Who knew that muffins had such an interesting background? We like to think that food such as muffins are a 20th century invention but that just isn’t the case. Dating back to the 1700’s, it figures they would have yeast in them…not even going there. Sugar was precious, honey was used a lot in place of sugar and no doubt in the early 1700’s that’s exactly what they used, especially the poorer folks. My favorite thing to do with muffin recipes is to turn them into mini loaves. For one, it’s less work in greasing and flouring a pan and I prefer freezing loaves instead of muffins, they seem to thaw out better in the end. 

I’m not sure if the recipe I used is a vintage or retro, not that that matters. However, I used a vintage filter on my photos to give you that feel of this being a vintage recipe. Have I made you wait long enough?! Are you dying to know how to make these little fruity gems?! Ok, ok here you go…enjoy!!

image (2)

Berry–Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)

1 2/3 cups fresh strawberries
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups Gold Medal all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Heat oven to 425 F.
Put a paper baking cup in each of 12 regular-size muffin cups, or grease just the bottoms of 12 muffin cups.
Slightly smash strawberries in large bowl, using fork.
Stir in sugar, oil and eggs until mixed.
Stir in other ingredients just until moistened.
Spoon batter into muffin cups.
Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until light golden brown or toothpick poked in center comes out clean.
Cool 5 minutes.
Loosen sides of muffins from pan if needed, and take them out of the pan. Makes 12 muffins.
Tip: If you do not have fresh strawberries, you can use frozen strawberries that you have thawed and drained.
I used frozen strawberries, thawed and drained of course. Mashed them up a bit with a fork and followed the rest of the recipe exactly!
image (5) 
After cooling for a bit in the pan, they popped right out with ease.
  image (3)
Let them cool on the wrack for a bit longer before serving.
image (4)
And yes, they are delicious with a little butter spread on them! I’ve made a few strawberry muffin recipes in the past and this has been the easiest and tastiest one yet! Ingredients list is fairly short, simple and most likely you’ll have everything already in your pantry and fridge/freezer. I wasn’t too sure about the cinnamon at first but was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t overpower the strawberry flavor. You can also try with different fruits: peaches, blueberries, pumpkins, bananas or apples.
Happy Eating!
Leave a Reply

