The Week at a Glance and Recipe

Have you ever woken up refreshed, excited to meet the new day? Yeah, I did that once too 🙂 Not that I didn’t jump out of the bed, I did especially after my alarm went off at 8:20am at a blaring volume that I swear should have woken up my son and nephew! Oy, not the best way to wake up. This week has been great, looking back over it and the memories that were made just gladdens my heart ❤

On Facebook I’ve been participating in a 31 day photo challenge. It’s something fun and different, challenging too. I had no idea something like that could be so tricky, honestly there have been a couple days where I wasn’t too sure about what I would post. You have to really tap into some creativity, think outside the box. On Instagram I share a collage of four pictures at a time of each challenge, if you’ve missed it or don’t have an IG account here’s a look at this weeks photo challenge. 

31 Day Photo Collage Days 6 to 11

From Left to Right on the top row: Day 6 was about fantasy, I struggled with this big time, so I colored a picture of sleeping beauty and wrote “waiting for him”; Day 7 was something that starts with P…I went with pecan tree, it’s on the right side of the picture. Day 8 was a quote: “There is no happiness like that of being loved by your fellow creatures, and feeling that your presence is an addition to their comfort.”― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre, so I went with a picture of me and my son, he’s my “fellow creature” that I love very much!

From Left to Right on the bottom row: Day 9 was a good one, black and white. Wrote a quote up on our chalkboard. My all time favorite was yesterdays, Day 10, inspiration. It was a fun day spent doing fall crafts with my boy. Day 11 was another quote:  “I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.”― Audrey Hepburn…who better to make you laugh than George Burns, Gracie Allen, Carol Burnett, and Lucille Ball?! My favorite shows!!

But the week wasn’t just about posting pictures onto Facebook, I’ve done some baking this week both sweet and savory that has all been very successful! Last nights dinner for instance, was quite tasty! Something I literally threw together! I’m calling it Queso Dip Burrito Bake. It’s simple, easy, and takes about 30-40 minutes to bake.

photo(8)

You’ll need:

1 package low carb high fiber tortillas, or your favorite flour tortilla

1 pound ground turkey

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 package of favorite taco seasoning or homemade

1 can refried beans (black refried beans work too)

1/2 can of water

1/2 cup favorite salsa

1/2 can rotel tomatoes

4 ounces Velveeta, cubed

2 cups shredded cheese, mexican blend

Brown ground turkey and onions together. Add in garlic and cook for 30 additional seconds. Turkey has very little fat, you may want to add a little olive oil or peanut oil into the pan to make sure it doesn’t stick or burn. About a tablespoon or two should work. Stir in the taco seasoning, refried beans and water. I used the empty refried beans can and filled it about half way with water. Let simmer on low.  Cube the Velveeta and set aside. Pull apart your flour tortillas and get your shredded cheese ready, set aside. Remove mexican turkey meat from heat and bring over to your work area ( I like to work at our butcher block). In a 9x 13 inch pan pour salsa down in the bottom. To assemble burritos: On a tortilla place a healthy pinch of shredded cheese down first. A healthy pinch for me is four fingers full, if you’re using smaller tortillas use less cheese. Next add a healthy spoonful of the meat mixture. Don’t add too much or you’ll have issues when folding. If you’ve never folded a burrito before, here’s a picture to help.

Fold the tortilla according the above picture. Place the burrito seam side down into your salsa lined baking dish. Repeat this process seven more times. For the topping: Spoon half a can of rotel on top of the burritos, juice too, and top with cubed Velveeta and shredded cheese. Cover tightly with foil, bake in 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes. Remove the foil and finish baking for 10 minutes to finish melting the cheese. Do not let it brown. Let it cool for 5 minutes before diving in, unless you like molten cheese scorching the inside of your mouth 🙂  Serve with favorite chips, salsa, guacamole, and sour cream!

Knowing that one pan wasn’t going to be enough for us I went ahead and made a second pan. It was killer! You get the best of both…cheesy beef–n–bean burritos, creamy queso dip on top…out of this world! My oldest nephew certainly loved it, and he’s not a ground turkey fan. It’s all about the seasonings and how you prepare it! I hope you all give this a try and let me know what you think. It’s a keeper for my family and hopefully it will be for yours as well. Have a blessed day!

2 thoughts on “The Week at a Glance and Recipe

Leave a Reply

