Sunday Morning: Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares

Potato Soup and Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares 020

Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares

Usually we don’t do breakfast on Sunday mornings. Mostly because we’re out the door by 8:40am and on our way to church. My son might grab a bowl of cereal before he gets dressed and Dad might have some buttered toast. But to actually sit down and enjoy a real breakfast…not the norm for us. Today is a bit different because I chose to stay home, allowing my right foot and left knee to recover from last week’s Missions Conference. I did a lot of walking, standing, and while I did try to sit when I couldn’t take much more it wasn’t for long. I’m not complaining, it was a wonderful experience and one I’d do all over again, I just don’t bounce back like most people.

Around 9am this morning I asked G–Man what sounded good for breakfast. His automatic reply…cinnamon roll pancake squares. Oy. I thought a moment, not that I don’t enjoy making those, they’re simple and take no time at all to bake, but I wanted to change it up. His favorite pancake are the chocolate chip pancakes I used to make. When I told him I could make chocolate chip pancake squares he was excited with a resounding “Mmmm”. There is no original recipe for what I made this morning, sure I based it off of the cinnamon roll pancake recipe, but I changed it up so much that the end results were denser, cakey, and rich. If you want to save yourself some calories you don’t have to follow my recipe exactly, but if you’re going to be bad, you might as well go all the way right?! 😀

Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares

Yields: 12 Squares

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

3 eggs

4 Tblsp butter, melted

2 Tblsp sugar (or brown sugar)

1/8 cup sour cream

2 cups all purpose flour

1 Tblsp + 1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

4–6 ounces of semi–sweet or milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a 7×11 baking dish with Reynolds Release Foil, or use preferred cooking spray.

In a large bowl blend together cream, eggs, and melted butter. Add in sugar and sour cream. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt, add to the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined, you don’t want to over mix. The batter is going to be thick and fluffy, carefully spread out into your lined baking pan evenly. Sprinkle with chocolate chips and bake for 15 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes before serving.

Potato Soup and Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares 009

I didn’t want this to brown on top, it did just a little bit around the edges and that’s fine. My son’s suggestion was to melt the chocolate chips and pour it over the pancake squares, you can certainly do that if you wish. Just add a little milk and butter to help thin it out a touch to make a syrup.

Potato Soup and Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares 016     Potato Soup and Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares 017

You can serve this up with coffee, tea, milk, and your favorite breakfast meat. It’s dense enough to pass as a dessert, just add whipped cream or ice cream. For a chocolate chip cookie flavor substitute brown sugar for the white sugar. You can add nuts if you like, or use a different chip flavor! I’m more of a butterscotch fan myself 🙂

Hope you all have a blessed Sunday!

One thought on “Sunday Morning: Chocolate Chip Pancake Squares

Leave a Reply

