Health Check Tuesday: Nutritional Type Eating

Like so many I grew up eating according to the food pyramid. Even went through a time where I was watching my food portions, doing the low fat, no fat, sugar free, low sugar, counting my calories, watching my salt, and the list goes on. However, my weight just kept climbing up.

Yodelay-Hee-Hoo

I didn’t realize at the time just how much damage I was doing to my body. I mean, I was doing everything according to what the professionals were saying and following the health guidelines…so why was I gaining instead of losing? Why did I feel worse instead of better? What was I doing wrong? Quite simply, I wasn’t eating according to my Nutritional Type. Not that I knew that then, hindsight is a pain in the patella. We all get so caught up in what these doctors and health professionals are telling us, making us feel like we’re incompetent when it comes to taking our nutritional health into our own hands. We’re treated like hypochondriac idiots when we share our concerns with our doctors and told that we can’t believe everything we read but we’re expected to trust everything a practicing doctor tells us. Definitely made me go “hmmm”. 

More than a decade passed before it dawned on me what I needed to be doing, if not for weight loss then for my over all health. It wasn’t till 2010 when I took Dr. Joseph Mercola’s Nutritional Typing Test and realized that I needed to lower my carbs. I’ve taken the same test three times and always get the same results. Alright, so what is this test? There are 21 questions to answer mostly based foods that you eat, or close enough to what you would eat. Granted it’s not exact, it would be impossible to add every food option for everyone. You kind of have to pick something closest to what sounds like what you would eat or at least sounds appetizing.

For instance, I’m not a breakfast person and never have been. I struggled to answer the first question and had to go with something that seemed like it would be good.

Question #1 If none are applicable, please choose your closest option.

Which meal would typically satisfy your hunger at breakfast?

–Hot or cold cereal, toast, bagel or cereal type bar

–Turkey sausage, soft boiled eggs, and baby spinach with cheese

–Bacon or sausage with eggs cooked in butter

–Egg white omelet with vegetables and cheese

–I have no set breakfast and I may eat a combination within any of the above foods

–I typically skip breakfast

–A protein shake with or without fruit

–I consume a plant based vegetarian or vegan style breakfast on a regular basis

Now, the first time I took this test I automatically chose “I typically skip breakfast” because a few years ago I was real big on drinking three cups of coffee as my breakfast. The second time I took it I chose “Bacon or sausage with eggs cooked in butter”. I ate that way for a year and lost 45 pounds. Then after reevaluating things since going more alkaline I’ve since had to change up my answers, not just for breakfast, and yet I got the same results. Adding some extra veggies during a meal hasn’t changed my nutritional type. So what are the types? There are only three: Protein, Carb, and Mixed. I think it’s safe to say that for a better part of my life I tried living the mixed type and that destroyed my body. It certainly didn’t help my PCOS symptoms, with that said just because I’m a protein type doesn’t mean that every PCOS woman is going to be a protein type. There are other questions within this test that will help determine your type based on how you feel after eating certain foods or skipping meals.

Such as, if I skip a meal I begin to feel jittery, light headed, and if it goes beyond 6 hours I start to break out into a cold sweat. Blood sugar, tricky stuff…this is why an all day fast doesn’t work for me. I’ve learned that skipping meals isn’t good for my insulin receptors either, in fact it has damaged them. This is why a lower carb lifestyle works for me! How can this work for you? Am I telling you that just because you’re a PCOS woman that you too should live a lower carb life? Absolutely not! What I’m advocating, and have been for years, is for you to discover what your Nutritional Type is. Just because you have PCOS that doesn’t mean that you’re going to be a Protein Type, you could be Mixed or be able to handle more Carbs. Not everyone can survive on the food pyramid/plate, consuming and x amount of calories a day, cutting out all fat, and eat a bunch of grains, fruits, and vegetables. 

Where’s this test, when can you take it and is it free?

Right here!

You can take it whenever you’re ready!  And yes it is FREE! Plus you will get a free cookbook and a free assessment with recipes appropriate for your Nutritional Type. There is no spam or selling of your personal information, Dr. Mercola doesn’t do that. Like me, he just wants to help people take back their health and be in control of their diet. If you want more information about the Nutritional Typing Diet click here to read Dr. Mercola’s article. It has definitely changed my life, helping me to better understand how I can eat to save my life rather than destroy it…think rehab for an alcoholic except for food. That’s how helpful this has been, liberating in fact. Now I can actually feel confident in how I am supposed to be living without worrying what some doctor is going to say. In fact I’ve used it to help teach them that everyone isn’t the same. Granted they think I’m nuts but hey, what else is new?! 

Take your health back today, right now this minute! Look at what you’re doing, is it really helping you? Has it decreased your prescription usage? Are you suffering from secondary health issues? If you are then consider reading about Dr. Mercola’s Nutritional Typing Diet and take his test. What is there to lose? 

One thought on “Health Check Tuesday: Nutritional Type Eating

  1. Pingback: Health Check Tuesday: Nutritional Type Eating | leanergetix.com

Leave a Reply

