Update: Onion Cheddar Muffins/Squares and Morning Surprise

Good morning gumdrops!! Hope you all had a fabulous weekend 🙂 We certainly had a nice relaxing weekend, boys got their new fall coats, cat naps all around, and Saturday night I made a scrumdilliumptious breakfast for Sunday morning that I plan to post about later!

Friday night we kicked off our weekend with a meatball bake with pasta, alfredo sauce, and a doubled recipe of Onion Cheddar Muffins/Squares. Only I did something a tad different…since we were having Italian for dinner I decided to make these amazing squares more Italian in flavor! This is for a doubled recipe, add the following:

1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning

1/2 tsp Sweet Summer Savory

1 TBLSP Garlic Powder

1/2 c Parmesan Cheese, plus extra for topping

1/4 recipe of melted homemade garlic butter

Before you add your wet ingredients with the dry, add in the Italian seasoning, sweet summer savory(this will enhance the Italian seasoning), garlic powder, and 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese. Give a quick stir to combine and add in your wet ingredients. Pour the dough out onto your prepared pan and gently spread out. Pour the melted garlic butter over the batter, top with more Parmesan cheese and cheddar cheese. Bake for 25 minutes for a nice top crust.

The end result…are you ready?!

Weekend Pics 2013 016     Weekend Pics 2013 015

The family was beyond impressed! My Mom said a couple of times that it tasted like the cheddar bay biscuits from Red Lobster. I personally can’t remember how those taste since I’ve only been there once, but these squares are addictive! I bet you can’t eat just one.

Weekend Pics 2013 026

I’m toying with the idea to one day make these into biscuits…yes they are worth it! What about the leftovers? What leftovers?! I think we might have a few in a baggie on the butcher block but that’s it. They’re great to snack on during a game or dip in some marinara sauce. Make up a big pan to take to your next get together and watch them disappear!!

…so, this morning I woke up to a notification on my wordpress dashboard. After not posting anything Friday, Saturday or Sunday I figured it was someone else liking a post from Thursday. I was pleasantly surprised! Ok, floored! I’ve been maintaining this blog since May this year, still a diamond in the rough and I can’t believe that so many folks actually enjoy what I post and share. Y’all are wonderful and make this whole thing worth it every day!

Weekend Pics 2013 054

106 views in one day?! I hadn’t posted since Thursday…I’m happily stunned! Just wanted to share this because it’s all you guys and gals out there who are making this possible! Thank you all so much, you’ve brightened my Monday for sure!!

Have a blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Update: Onion Cheddar Muffins/Squares and Morning Surprise

  1. The original recipe was good, but the addition of onion and garlic made this quick bread even better. It has the texture of corn bread and when eaten straight from the oven, the cheesy topping is crispy. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

