Has Your Immune System Turned Against You? (Please pass on to anyone you know who suffers from PCOS)

Every woman with PCOS needs to watch her weight to better manage the symptoms of her condition, whether she’s lean or overweight.And in the case of the latter, researchers in Australia have found that excess fat around the abs can actually turn the body’s defense system against an overweight person, leading to heart disease. The latter condition is also linked to PCOS.The immune system is made up of many different kinds of cells that protect the body from germs, viruses and other invaders. These cells need to co-exist in a certain balance for good health to be maintained.Many factors, including a bad diet and excess body fat, can tip this balance, creating immune cells that can harm, rather than protect, our bodies.Fortunately, damage to the immune systems of PCOS women can be reversed. What is one step you can take today that will increase your overall immunity? Can you make a small, healthy food substitution or go on a 15 minute walk this afternoon? Whatever you decide to do, write it down and put it in your planner. Do it today and feel in control of your health!

 Warmly,

 Katie Humphrey

International Health Coach

Author of Freedom from PCOS

Spokesperson for PCOS Insulite Laboratories

I received this email in May of last year. Just found it while going through some old messages that I was getting ready to delete. So glad I chose to look through them first 🙂 For a while now I have been sharing the importance of health while living with PCOS. Healthy doesn’t mean you have work yourself down to a size zero, and I’m in no way bashing any women who are thin, but simply saying you can be healthy even at a size 20W. So long as you’re eating the right foods for your nutritional type, you workout at least three days a week and strive for at least 15–30 minutes each time, staying active is key to a long and healthy life! You’re going to be healthier inside and out, sick less often, and feel better over all than if you completely ignored your body. Take control of the things that you can change…instead of donut (and y’all know I love my donuts) grab an apple or a bowl of berries. Instead of potato chips and onion dip have some gluten free veggie chips with hummus (which is so good). You can make small changes in your every day diet and lifestyle that will help put you that much closer to being a healthier you!

If by chance you are a heavier cyster, like me, you need to check out Plus Size Birth blog. You don’t have to be a woman who’s trying to conceive, I’m certainly not, but any plus size woman who is lacking confidence can certainly follow Jen’s blog and Facebook group for encouragement. I’ve met a great group of ladies who have helped me to stop looking down on myself as a person and accept the way I am. After years of being bullied, picked on about my weight and abused by my ex I spent many years replaying those words over and over in my head. Every time I looked at myself in the mirror I was disgusted, not seeing any beauty or worth. Even after having my son and gaining an enormous amount of weight that I’ve spent 7 years losing and gaining back it’s been difficult to finally reach the conclusion that I’m just as beautiful as any other woman out there! I’m me, broken body and all 🙂 So be sure to check out her amazing blog and Facebook page, you’ll be amazed at how open and honest everyone is. Nothing is taboo, you don’t have to fear about asking any questions. Sometimes we need encouraging words to get us going down the path to better choices. Mental health and how you see yourself is just as important as the physical health, you must take care of the one in order to achieve the other! Stay beautiful ❤

3 thoughts on “Has Your Immune System Turned Against You? (Please pass on to anyone you know who suffers from PCOS)

  1. Pingback: PCOS & Your Heart | Night Owl Kitchen

  2. Pingback: PCOS and the Endocrine System | Night Owl Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Write HOPE on Your Arm | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

