Throw Back Thursday: Fall Fruit Bake

Oooo what a chilly morning it is 😀 I’m loving it naturally! I keep seeing folks on Facebook posting the current temp in their area and boy oh boy have there been some frigid temps! The lowest I saw from someone this morning was nineteen degrees! Of course living here in the south we don’t get to see those icy temperatures too often…once in a blue moon perhaps. Right now it is 48 degrees here in Huntsville, AL and yes I’m loving it 🙂

So, on this chilly morning I woke up not wanting to get out of my very warm covers. I laid there thinking what would be a good throw back Thursday treat and I remembered I used to make G–Man a fruit bake during the cooler months when he was a toddler. You’d think that would have been inspiration enough to get me jumping out of bed at 8:30am but alas it wasn’t lol!! I stayed in bed till almost 9:20am…can we say lazy bum?! Yay I knew you could hehe!!

Fall Fruit Bake 004

Fall Fruit Bake (Amanda Gayle Style)

4 cans of 50 calorie snack fruit cups (I used peaches in light syrup)

1 cup quick cooking oats

4 Tblsp light brown sugar

1 pinch of salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 stick butter, melted

4 ramekins

Fall Fruit Bake 006

Into each ramekin add one can of fruit. I did not butter these I just added the fruit directly into them. If you want to make a larger version of this you can certainly use fresh fruit of your choice, apples and pears are nice this time of the year. Just be sure to chop the fruit into smaller bits and toss them with a little apple pie spice or sugar. You could also make these with a pumpkin puree for an alternative to pumpkin pie. Just add some pumpkin pie spice and you’re set!

Fall Fruit Bake 009     Fall Fruit Bake 012

Set aside the fruit filled ramekins. In a paper bowl combine the oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt and melted butter. Gettin’ happy, happy, happy!

Fall Fruit Bake 013     Fall Fruit Bake 015

Stir to combine the butter into the oats mixture and dole out to the four dishes. Flatten out slightly. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15–20 minutes (I baked these in the toaster oven at 325 for 20 minutes since our little oven get really hot).

Fall Fruit Bake 025     Fall Fruit Bake 028

Fall Fruit Bake 030

Remove from the oven, let them cool for at least 5 minutes before diving in, or longer if you think you can stand it! I know some might argue that these are more dessert like than breakfast and you could certainly use it for that. Add a scoop of ice cream or some whipped cream on top and you’ll have a single serving dessert. These can be frozen, just be sure to completely thaw before reheating.

I’ve even stirred the buttery oat mixture with the fruit and baked it for a peachy oatmeal bake. It’s a versatile recipe. If you want a punch of color add some sweetened craisins to the fruit. They’ll plump up in the fruit syrup as it bakes. For a nuttier topping add 1/4 cup of ground walnuts, pecans or almonds to the oats mixture. Have fun experimenting 🙂 

Stay Warm!

Leave a Reply

