Psst…anyone there?

Test…1…2…3…check, check…Well, I’m still alive πŸ™‚ I haven’t forgotten about you all. Things have certainly been crazy around here since we got home. And the exhaustion, I can’t get over how tired I still am. Last night I went to bed before 11pm, I know major shock! Traveling 11 hours will do that I guess. Plus I had to spend Monday doing a bulk of my Christmas shopping online. Love Cyber Mondays but apparently others do too! Will have to get the rest locally and make a few things to make up the difference. Just amazed at how slow certain sites were running.

Short notice, we decided to go down to FL to visit Dad’s folks and kept it a secret that my son and I would be traveling down with him. It sure was a surprise to everyone seeing how we haven’t seen them since G–Man was 8 months old. A lot has changed and grown up in these 9 years πŸ™‚ We enjoyed a nice Thanksgiving meal with everyone and G–Man discovered toys in one of the guests bedrooms!

First Night in FL

He found three or four View Masters and several reels, but that was just the tip of the toy–berg. Once he found the wooden train set boy was he in heaven! He made some nice configurations that I know my Dad got a picture or two of. Will update this post when I can find them πŸ™‚

Of course you can’t have a trip with family and not play a board game πŸ˜‰

Playing Sorry with Nana Marty

Nana was sweet enough to show G–Man how to play Sorry and patient to endure a game with his toy ladybug Mr. Greg. It was a confusing game, even I got mixed up with whose turn it was and constantly reminding G–Man that he couldn’t slide on his own color or keep sending Nana back to Start instead of Mr. Greg. Can we say cheater?! πŸ˜‰

But it wasn’t all just fun any games, we did have some tasty treats along the way. Since my Grandpa is a diabetic and on kidney dialysis I offered to make some sugar free desserts but he was content to enjoy the real deal. So we made his favorite, Cherry Pudding. It was lower in sugar than the more traditional recipe, so I didn’t feel as guilty serving it to him.Β 

I can remember my Grandma Jones (my maternal grandmother) making this and my Mom making it as well. Granted this picture doesn’t do it justice, but thankfully the link under the picture will give you a better idea, though the recipe isn’t anything like what we make. Don’t worry, that recipe is going in another cookbook πŸ˜‰ Just not the one that’s coming out next May. If you’re not a fan of the tart cherries you can certainly use cherry pie filling, which is what we did. Fortunately it was a light pie filling, not very sweet which I made just a tad sweeter with 1/4 cup Stevia in the Raw. This was a nice treat for us Nole fans and would have been one heck of a victory dessert for those Auburn fans who celebrated an insane win Saturday Night! It’s great warm from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream.Β 

All in all it was a good trip, one I’m glad I finally took and G–Man is hoping to go back down next year. We’ll have to wait and see πŸ™‚

Four Gen Photo

Four Generation Picture

Thankfully Grandpa’s health is improving and will continue to do so. (And no we didn’t all plan on wearing navy blue in the picture, but it’s funny how that worked out!)

Night!

Leave a Reply

