Cinnamon Sugar Biscuits

There are some mornings where you know you’re supposed to stick with your lifestyle food. Honestly, doing that for weeks on end has shown results (nearly 8 pounds of weight loss…yay me) but it does get old. Which is why I allowed myself this one morning of “I don’t care that it’s not low carb, alkaline, sugar-free, gluten free, soy free, GMO free, dairy free…” Will I pay for in the end? Quite possibly, after all I just have to look at food and instantly gain a pound or two. So what made me want to throw caution to the wind and indulge?

Boredom, the fact that we weren’t being rushed to get to a school day, not wanting to make scrambled eggs yet again, and a commercial for gooey cinnamon rolls 😉 Ok, that last part might have had the most impact! Can’t blame me, I don’t know anyone who can turn down a warm cinnamon roll that is dripping with cream cheese.

***Note to Self***

Have Mom make those ASAP!!!

After the fourth or fifth time of having my son ask me what’s for breakfast, from the top of my head I said cinnamon sugar biscuits. His eyes lit up at the mere mention of cinnamon anything, along with turkey sausage patties. Boy he was on board. In my head I had a rough idea how to make them, and here’s what I did. About halfway through the process I decided it might be best to have pictures and that’s when I called on my trusty young photographer G–Man 🙂

*I know that some of the pictures are blurry and not of great quality. G–Man is learning and is excited at the idea of one day becoming a photographer :)*

Cinnamon Sugar Biscuits

8 frozen biscuits, thawed, or 8 homemade or canned

1/2 stick butter, melted

1 cup sugar

1 tsp cinnamon (Saigon or other preferred)

If using frozen biscuits, thaw them out almost completely. I nuked them for about two minutes in the microwave on HIGH. Take note: this will vary with every microwave.

Melt butter in a paper bowl.

Combine sugar and cinnamon in another paper bowl.

 

December 2013 Pictures 064

Set up a simple assembling line and with gloves on (or not if you like) dip each biscuit into the melted butter on both sides. Gently put the buttery biscuit into the cinnamon sugar mix and coat completely.

December 2013 Pictures 066     December 2013 Pictures 069

Place onto a foil lined baking sheet (I used a 12–inch pizza pan). Sprinkle the remaining cinnamon sugar mix over the biscuits and pour the rest of the butter as well over the top.

December 2013 Pictures 070

Cooling cinnamon sugar biscuits

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes and serve with favorite breakfast meat, syrup or as G–Man prefers, yellow mustard. SMH.

December 2013 Pictures 071     December 2013 Pictures 072

(Loved these two pictures with the different lighting)

These were tasty, a nice treat and definitely hits the spot for those morning sweet tooth cravings. G–Man absolutely loved it, he got the sweet and savory all mixed together and politely informed me that I was to make those again 🙂 It warms my innards to hear that from him. You could definitely top these off with a cream cheese frosting or glaze, or keep that on the side for those you prefer to dip! If you’re making these from scratch consider adding golden raisins to the biscuit dough and the proceed with dipping and coating. In a way I guess you could say these would be a poor man’s version of a cinnamon roll.

December 2013 Pictures 076     December 2013 Pictures 077 December 2013 Pictures 078     December 2013 Pictures 079

We sincerely hope you will try these and let us know what you think.

Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

