What a Fun(yun) Day

Evening all, not many of you knew it but yesterday was my birthday 🙂 Turned 32, yes can hardly believe it myself. I sat for a while in my bathroom just staring at myself remembering what it would be like to be in my 30’s…alright I didn’t really ponder on that in a deep way but I did think wow, you’re 32 years old today. Then I brushed my teeth and went off to school with my boy 🙂

It was a great birthday, a lot of wonderful friends and family remembered me and wished me the best on Facebook, even got a card from a sweet older woman from my church(it’s so nice to be thought of). I don’t make a big deal about my birthday anyway, don’t advertise it or expect anything special(ie big parties, a week long celebration, or outlandish gifts). I’m content with just being home with the family, thankful for another year, for my son, my salvation, and just being able to live to enjoy life. So, this year wasn’t any different. I woke up and made my own breakfast(no yeast cinnamon rolls…very yummy by the way), did some school work with G–Man, and came down from our bonus room to find my Mom making me the cake I said I would love to have. My oldest nephew had taken care of the dishes so all I had to do was sit and enjoy my day! It was nice not having to do anything for a little while, even got to enjoy a few rounds of bingo on my ipod 🙂 Yes, I’m a huge bingo addict, it’s all for points and not money. Just pure fun!

Usually for my birthday I choose some low carb, alkaline, gluten free options that everyone moans and groans about. “It’s one day a year”, “do something special”…so I did. Something I figured everyone would enjoy and not break the bank at the same time. Went to the Domino’s website, checked out their coupons, scored some deals and got a little something for everyone! Dad even spoiled us with sodas, which we rarely drink and I haven’t had in years, even got us our favorite chips…funyuns oh how I have missed you! But the best part of the entire evening was the cake that my Mom had wore herself out in making. It’s an absolute rich and moist cake, so delicious!

Amandas bday cake 008

Italian Cream Cheese Cake

(Recipe courtesy of Southern With A Twist)

1 stick Butter
½ cup Crisco
2 cups Sugar
5 Egg Yolks
2 cups Plain Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 cup Buttermilk
1 tsp Vanilla
1 cup Coconut
1 cup chopped Pecans
5 Egg Whites, stiffly beaten

Cream butter and Crisco. Add sugar, beat well. Add egg yolks and beat. Add flour and soda. Alternate with buttermilk. Stir in vanilla. Add coconut & nuts. Fold in stiffly beaten egg whites 2 Tablespoons at a time. Pour into greased and floured 9 in cake pans and bake at 350 for 20 – 25 min or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool and frost with cream cheese frosting.

Frosting:
1 – 8oz Cream Cheese, softened
½ stick Butter, softened
1 box 10x Sugar (1 pound of powdered sugar)
1 tsp Vanilla
Chopped Nuts, optional

Mix cheese and butter, add sugar and vanilla. Frost Cake and sprinkle nuts on cake.

***

Like I said, it’s a rich cake and that was unexpected. Mom did a superb job making this for me 🙂 Her helper, JJ, did an awesome job lending a hand and doing the dishes as well! As I told my folks tonight, they are excellent cooks and made this owl’s b–day a really good one! Give this cake a try, it pairs wonderfully with a caramel turtle tracks ice cream!

Amandas bday cake 004     Amandas bday cake 005

The loading of the greased and floured pans…watching her do this brought back so many fond memories.

***

Amandas bday cake 006

Frosted Italian Cream Cheese Cake topped with flaked sweetened coconut.

Amandas bday cake 016

Very decadent! Eat slowly and enjoy!!

***

2014-02-07 Amandas bday cake

Or…you could just eat it whole…just a thought 😉

Happy Eating!

4 thoughts on “What a Fun(yun) Day

  1. Pingback: ~5 Faves Friday: A tribute to my Plus Size Cysters~ | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

