TBT: What Happened in My Birth Year?

Yello! Sometimes I get curious about certain things and spend waste time surfing the web till I find what I’m looking for. I was feeling a tad nostalgic and decided to Bing search what happened the year I was born. Gnarly man!

Alright, for those older than me, you already know what happened in 1982. You were the hippest of that year, the coolest…you were rad! Before my memory starting kicking in at the age of two, you all got to see E.T. in theaters, Star Wars was still the best film rocking most geeks worlds, and you were probably sweatin’ to Physical by Olivia Newton John. Michael Jordan had burst on the scene that year and Super Mario Bros were gaining popularity. It was a great year to be alive! To be a teen and spend your time at the mall, drinking Tab, and showing off your snazzy 80’s fashion(tight stonewashed jeans and scrunch socks) 😉 Those were the days! And yes I do know the words to Ebony and Ivory…being the youngest of three kids I was exposed to a lot of the songs from the 80’s and still remember the words to most of them 🙂

At all curious about what happened in your birth year? Want to show your kids what happened the year they were born? I got ya covered! Click the picture below, enter your birth year or theirs, sit back and enjoy!

Sometimes it’s just nice to sit back and remember when..

And, want to see what your Mom, Grandma, Great–Grandma, Aunt, or Great–Aunt were making when you were younger? Here’s a fun website, Hey, my Mom used to make that, that offers a few recipes per decade of some outrageous delights. After looking through the 60’s–90’s Mom and I could say with certainty what was made at home or something like it was made instead or not at all. We have family recipes that have been made for decades and continue to be favorites for the grandkids in our family. Have fun exploring!

AmandaJones2_1984-1

Amanda Gayle circa 1984

Later!

Leave a Reply

