Lemon Pepper Chicken Salad

What a beautiful day it is! Nice cool breeze, wish it could be this way year round. Last night I kinda already knew that I wanted to fix a chicken meal but didn’t exactly know what though. After my workout I remembered I hadn’t made lemon pepper chicken in a while.  Normally when I make lemon pepper chicken I just put the seasoning directly on the chicken, but it tends to be strong and difficult to enjoy. While I’m trying to cook more lower carb meals for the family I had to find a way to tone down the intense lemon pepper flavor. I added the seasoning into some flour and coated the chicken in that before  pan frying in a little peanut oil.

Don’t judge, it wasn’t as if I ate the entire plate of chicken or sat there eating the seasoned flour from the bowl. Give this gal some credit 🙂 I made sure to remove as much of the excess as possible before cooking it. In the end I ate three pieces of the pound that I made which was more than enough!

lemon pepper chicken salad 0063

The breakdown of my salad…

You don’t have to use the same exact ingredients as I did. You can use any lettuce you like, any vegetables and leave off the dressing if you prefer. But here’s what was in my bowl last night.

Romaine Lettuce, chopped

Carrot, grated

Red Onion, thinly sliced

Tomato, chopped

Avocado, cubed

Dressing

Lemon Pepper Chicken, chopped

Broccoli Florets

lemon pepper chicken salad 003

It was absolutely delicious, I used 1/2 of a very ripe avocado and the flavor was a nice addition with the lemon pepper chicken! All the flavors really just went well together, the red onion I will admit was a tad stronger than I’m used too, a sweet onion can be substituted if you prefer. The broccoli was frozen, all I did to it was put it in a small sauce pan with butter and water. Sprinkled on dehydrated onion flakes and garlic, a pinch of salt and covered it to allow it to steam cook. I didn’t allow it to overcook and get mushy, but it cooked long enough to be hot with enough crunch to satisfy my oldest nephew 😉

lemon pepper chicken salad 002

Play with the flavors, grill your vegetables for added flavor, and most importantly…use the freshest ingredients you can find and afford!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

