Feeling old yet?

Afternoon y’all, I finally had that feeling of “good grief I’m old” last night! I help teach a class of 3 & 4 year olds every Wednesday night at church. Two of the youngin’s arrived early and one of them had a heart sticker. She called it her Tenderheart sticker 😉 Oh the flashbacks that came rolling with that hehe!! I was sitting at the desk prepping their take home papers and I leaned forward close to her and asked her if she has ever done the Care Bear stare!!! She looked at me with that look of “uh, no I’m not THAT crazy!” lol Ok, so I was THAT crazy when I was her age 😛

$(KGrHqRHJBQFEzL0DlORBRs2vw0!9!~~60_35 I had Cheer Bear, I would sit with her and Butterbear (when I would watch the Wuzzles) and do my Care Bear stare when they would 🙂 And yes, I would bounce all over the place when the Gummi Bears came on 😀 Actually all my stuffed animals would watch my shows with me, pound puppies included! Oh those were the days, feels like it was just yesterday. Now admit it, you all did the same thing too, don’t deny it.

jem_

Raise your hand if you remember this funky morsel of 80’s cartoons *raises her hand* and I would only watch it when we would visit my Grandma and Grandpa Jones. I never slept well in their house and would wake up before the sun. So I’d come out to their living room feeling like a zombie and curl up on the sofa(back when I could curl up lol). My Grandma would turn on the tv and put it on Jem. I loved it and longed for my Barbie dolls to look as cool as Jem, because she was truly outrageous!

But my all time favorite toy that I used over and over until I lost teddyruxpin-e

the cover for the batteries was my...

Teddy Ruxpin!

Oh how I loved that toy, still have my original packed away along with my preemie cabbage patch baby dolls. I would put the tape in ol’ Teddy and hunker down on my bed with my babies and listen to story after story of Teddy’s adventures, often times pretending to shush one of the baby dolls.

How I wish I could explain to these youngin’s that they aren’t the first to enjoy things like Care Bears, Strawberry Shortcake, My Little Pony, and the Smurfs. One day 🙂 When I’m gray haired…oh wait, already that lol…well, y’all get ready for stories titled “When I was your age” hehe to me those are always the best!

Happy TBT!!!

 

Related Links:

You Know You’re an 80’s Kid if…

Popular Items for 1980’s Kids on Etsy

1980’s Website; Totally retro

1980’s Quizzes and Trivia

One thought on “Feeling old yet?

Leave a Reply

