5 Favorite things from this week…

It’s been a long and busy week, looking forward to the school year ending. Be one less thing we’ll have on our plate for a while, but this week has delivered some pretty amazing things that have made my top five list.

1) Lemon Almond Bread from Two Peas and Their Pod

Lemon Almond Bread Recipe on twopeasandtheirpod.com Lemon bread with lemon glaze and almonds! LOVE this recipe!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know I’ve been sticking to my lower carb stuff now for a bit but seriously, I am going to have to cave and try this recipe out! I am so in love with the recipes that come from Two Peas and Their Pod, everything looks absolutely amazing and tempting! Click the picture to go to their blog and snag the delicious recipe 🙂

2)A female humpback whale…and her story of gratitude…

Perhaps you have seen this picture and story already, but this one certainly tugged on my heart…

A fisherman spotted her just east of the Faralon Islands (outside the Golden Gate) and radioed for help. Within a few hours, the rescue team arrived and determined that she was so badly off, the only way to save her was to dive in and untangle her…. a very dangerous proposition.

One slap of the tail could kill a rescuer.

They worked for hours with curved knives and eventually freed her.

When she was free, the divers say she swam in what seemed like joyous circles. She then came back to each and every diver, one at a time, nudged them, and pushed gently, thanking them. Some said it was the most incredibly beautiful experience of their lives.

The guy who cut the rope out of her mouth says her eye was following him the whole time, and he will never be the same.

May you be so fortunate …

To be surrounded by people who will help you get untangled from the things that are binding you.

And, may you always know the joy of giving and receiving gratitude.

 

3)Marines singing Frozen “Let It Go”

There are few videos that will actually touch me…but this video is one of them. My son and I absolutely love the movie Frozen and Let It Go has become our number one favorite song to sing. When this video started playing I thought, “wow who knew that some tough Marines would actually enjoy that movie?” But as I kept watching my smile grew and I was loving their reaction as I was quietly singing along with the song and BAM! Their reaction toward the end of it just blew me away! Hope you enjoy. Semper Fi Oorah!

 

4)Lets sit under Wisteria and watch the world go by.
Kitakyūshū – Japan

Oh how I would love to go here and just sit. No devices, nowhere else to be, but sit right there on that bench and just take it all in. Who’s with me?!

 

5)Memaw’s Birthday

Boop-Birthday-wrapSM

May 1st was my Memaw’s birthday, she would have been 81 years old this year. The first week of May is forever bittersweet, knowing she’s in heaven, yet still missing her like crazy on this side. She was a Betty Boop fan, at one time her kitchen was decorated in black, white with little touches of red and Betty Boop memorabilia displayed as the central theme tying it all together. It was a fun trying to find unique pieces to add to her collection 🙂

Happy Birthday

Today is your birthday in heaven above.

My blessings I send on the wings of a dove,

Not just for today, but everyday hereof.

I think of you always, with all my love!

3 thoughts on “5 Favorite things from this week…

  1. Pingback: Sunday Story Time « Some Animals are Crackers

Leave a Reply

