It’s time to celebrate!

blog_anniversary1

 

Yesterday, the Night Owl Kitchen Blog became a year old! It has been an absolutely wonderful year of sharing things with all of you, getting to meet some new friends, and trying new things. All this week I plan to revisit my first posts as a new blogger and share my personal favorite posts from the year.

My very first blog post was a year ago today. I wrote about Chewy Sugar Cookies, (<—click the link to view post and recipe), they’ve been such a hit with family and friends that I cannot skip this simple crowd pleaser 🙂

2013 028

Click the image to view original post

You absolutely cannot go wrong with sugar cookies….ever. They are the staple for most get togethers, kids absolutely love them(especially when iced) and they are elegant enough to serve at a bridal tea, baby shower, and yes even on a dessert table for weddings and anniversaries(or even as party favors)! The simplicity of this cookie is what makes it so versatile, but what make the recipe such a hit is that they aren’t hard to bite into, but have a wonderful chewy texture. The cookies are substantial enough to hold up to icing and sprinkles, plus they are perfect to use as homemade ice cream sandwiches, as an alternative crust for a cheesecake, and you can take the entire dough to use for a fruit pizza! I know everyone is looking for that perfect sugar cookie recipe, give this one a try. You might be surprised just how amazing it really is 🙂

 

party-streamers

I’m so humbled to be sharing this wonderful week with all 287 of you! I can never say this enough, but I love you all! This blog would not be what it is today without each and every one of you. Thank you for your faithfulness, for liking, sharing, reblogging, and Pinning. I can’t wait to see what this second year will usher in 🙂 New recipes and experiences, more wonderful friends, and other tantalizing delights! We will definitely have too see!!!

One of my favorite posts, without a doubt, is when NOK Blog reached it’s first 100 followers 🙂

100-days-left--

Click the image to view original post

I have never forgotten that feeling of “WOW! There are 100 people out there who actually enjoy this place!!” Many of my fellow bloggers can relate to what I’m about to say, I feel like this tiny spec on the map of the world and having 100 people actually following and reading what I write….it’s unbelievable! I have to share this, during lunch yesterday Dad was showing me a Better Homes and Garden Recipe app he had recently downloaded. He said, “You need to market your cookbook this way.” It truly is a neat app that BH&G offers, so many wonderful recipes, I love how you can view a recipe and it will add the ingredients you need to a shopping list! Two thumbs up from me!! Well, I can only hope that once NOK Blog has been around for 50+ years I’ll be able to market as well as BH&G has 🙂 Until then I’m very proud of the little family I have right now and the wonderful support that has come from it! You’ve all helped make some impossible dreams come true for me, I cannot thank you enough!

 

Here’s to another FABULOUS year!!!

5 thoughts on “It’s time to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

