A TBT Celebration!!!

inspiring-vintage-kitchen-design

One of my favorite days of the week has been TBT’s. I love looking up old recipes, trying new things and sharing them on here. I know I’ve gotten lax in doing that lately, but I still enjoy this day even if I’m not writing about it. When I originally decided to share Throw Back Thursday posts it was my intention to bring back those recipes of old. You can do web searches for recipes that hearken back to the 1800’s and yet there aren’t any pictures, reviews or person thoughts. So I decided that it would be fun to pick certain ones that sounded good,for one, in the hopes you all would like to try them out yourselves. I would like to continue on with such posts, I do love cooking and baking after all, but instead of doing that weekly I may cut back to a once a month post for health reasons.

retro-teaparty-vintageimage-Graphics-Fairyrd

I know I’ve said this another time before, but I love old cookbooks. I grew up pulling out all of my Mom’s 70’s and 80’s cookbooks from the shelves and would sit there reading each recipe and falling in love the old pictures and wondering what each dish would taste like. One such recipe I shared on here was the Dutch Butter Cookies recipe.

Dutch Butter Cookies 057

Click image to view original post

When I discovered this recipe, at the time I had no idea just how big of a hit it would be. Especially with my Mom! I grew up with her hand rolled sugar cookies that she would make once a year, always for Christmas, and those are her favorite cookie. Now I think the Dutch Butter Cookies have either tied with the hand rolled sugar cookies or at least come in at a close second. You really can’t messed these cookies up, it’s a four ingredient recipe that you can either enjoy plain or with colored sugar on top(as pictured above).Ā  When you serve them up small they are perfect then for get togethers, easier for kids to pick up and enjoy, or you could cut them larger and decorate with frosting. It’s not a sweet cookie but I’ve not had any complaints yet from adults or toddlers šŸ™‚ And kids are my harshest critics some times!

One of my all time TBT favorites, and I mean this was a newly discovered recipe for me that has become a winter staple now, is Milk Toast. Just from the name of the recipe it doesn’t sound very appetizing, but just wait!

148_alt2

Click image to view original post

I’m the only one in the family who has tried this recipe, no one else is brave enough šŸ˜¦ I don’t share nasty recipes, at least I try not to. Perhaps this one is more of a personal preference, but don’t judge this recipe until you’ve eaten it just once. It’s a very hearty meal, it’s best to use a slightly thicker slice of toast for best results. I’ve tried it with lower carb bread, it’s ok just not thick enough for my liking.

milk toast 007

It’s thick like oatmeal, the sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top is completely optional. You can pre–cut the toast for easier eating and enjoyment. You could definitely add some raisins or craisins to this if you like, use any bread you prefer, I’ve wondered it French loaf slices would be tasty…*nods thoughtfully* I think it would!

Don’t be afraid to try new things, my friends. You never know what you could be missing out on šŸ™‚

vintage_kids_baking_art_print_poster-rd8ce0d9846474974aecbffa1751ebbf4_fboq_8byvr_512

Leave a Reply

