I miss the old days and the older ways…

I take it back I don’t want to be an adult anymore…I want the late 80’s and early 90’s back STAT!

Yesterday G–Man wanted to watch Frozen, for a moment I had forgotten how to get the movie to show up on the tv. See it’s not so easy here at our house. You can’t just pop in the dvd, push play and sit back to enjoy…no that would be too ideal, too easy, too sane! Here let me show you what all has to be used in order to watch a dvd in our house, ready?!

to watch a movie 001

All right, let’s start breaking it down by breaking it down…3 remotes and a keyboard. The keyboard is part of my Dad’s Logitech internet tv set up. It’s a neat addition but a pain if you’re like me πŸ™‚ From left to right we have: tuner remote, dvd player remote, and tv/cable box remote.

  • First thing to do is to switch the tv channel by using the tv/cable box remote by pushing the TV/VCR or Input button once. Check!
  • Next, turn on the dvd player and insert movie. Check!
  • Turn on the tuner(for the theatrical sound experience) and hit the HDMI 2 button to switch it over to the Logitech sound and screen……*grumble*…….and Check!
  • Finally, turn on the Logitech keyboard wait for screen to pop up and pray it’s still on the movie setting (which it was because I couldn’t remember what it was I had to click on). Click play and pray it works…CHECK!

Please tell me how this is so much better than what we had growing up as kids of the 80’s and 90’s…anyone?! I groan any time the set up changes, I don’t mind it when something gets eliminated from the process because my brain gets a break from having to remember what I’ll have to grab next. Anyone remember the old VCR’s and VHS tapes? I know many of you do πŸ™‚ It was so simple! Take movie out of case, pop it in the VCR, adjust tracking if needed and enjoy! Does anyone else still have all their VHS movies? *raises my hand up high* All the Disney movies from my childhood are still on VHS with the exception to Cinderella, had to replace it with an Anniversary dvd after the tape died. I nearly cried the day that happened, it was the first movie I remember watching with our new VCR. I sat on the floor so close to the TV…just enthralled to see something like that in our home!Β 

funny-VHS-video-tape-player

Ahhh, those were the days! We still have a VCR we purchased while in Brazil, it still works but I can’t interest my son in watching any of those old Disney movies. If it’s not on DVD he doesn’t want anything to do with it. Today’s kids, right?! smh…

Name those 80’s movies!

80s-films

One thought on “I miss the old days and the older ways…

  1. Awe the 80’s …. I miss the music, the movies and the simpler times. My parents still have their VCR and refuse to give it up. I think they might be smart ☺️

Leave a Reply

