~5 Favorite Things~

happy-friday

Another week is nearly done and I’m sure many of you have some wonderful plans for the weekend πŸ™‚ Anyone grilling out? Tis’ the season for it! Just finished watching Trisha Yearwood’s show where she marinated some steaks, made a fresh raspberry vinaigrette served over a summery salad, cheesy twice baked potatoes, and garlic sauteed zucchini slices. Hello! I’m not a steak person but I would make an exception to try her marinated steak recipe πŸ˜€Β 

Yesterday my Dad and nephew drove down to Florida, safely too. My nephew is going to stay down there for a little overΒ  month taking driving lessons from my great uncle’s stepdaughter. It’s a family tradition going all the back to my Dad. He’s going to do great down there seeing that he passed his written test with flying colors πŸ™‚ It’s going to be weird not having him around for a month. G–Man has already stepped up and started helping out where my nephew had been. Granted taking the garbage cans down to the road is big chore, he’s enjoying the other tasks, makes him feel like a bigger kid πŸ™‚

Whether you were aware of it or not, the first Friday is National Doughnut Day! Indeed, it’s a day to celebrate that cakey/yeasty confection with delicious glazes, frostings, sprinkles, or sugary coatings.

1) National Doughnut Day

national_doughnut_day1

Now, if you want to share the experience of making doughnuts with your family there are several yummy recipes out there. One of my personal favorite recipes comes from the Joy of Baking website. It’s a cake doughnut recipe that is easy, kids will love helping out with the rolling and cutting! And they’re fried, hey there is nothing better than a fresh fried doughnut πŸ˜‰


2)iPad Humor

534320_529048423799884_129035101_n

Lol, this made me giggle A LOT when I saw this pop up on a friend’s newfeed on FB. Just this week I inherited my Dad’s iPad. After removing his apps, info and wiping it clean I was finally able to move all my work related stuff from my iPod to it. Talk about a huge difference in performance! I don’t think I could bring myself to swatting a fly with my iPad but it would be one heck of a way to go πŸ˜›

3) New study finds that spirulina can help treat pancreatic cancer…

spirulina

Click image to read article

This was such an amazing read this week. I’m sure we all can name at least one person who has lost their battle to pancreatic cancer. My friend’s Dad died of it, so you can imagine how I felt when I saw this article via Alternative Health Solutions on FB. Instantly I shared it and checked it out. I’m all for alternative measures to that of traditional cancer treatment. After losing both my grandmother’s to cancers(one received traditional therapy and the other died too soon to be treated) I’ve made it my personal mission to seek other more natural and holistic measures of preventative treatment. This one is definitely one to keep on hand!

4) You put what into the coffee pot?!

1157657_557440850977633_839535202_n

Seriously, this made me shake my head. My nephew even said “that’s just wrong.” Well, it didn’t surprise me when I saw who shared the picture(Jeff Foxworthy) lol I’m not sure I would recommend this or not πŸ˜›

5) Bacon Jalapeno Popper Quiche

If you’re a fan of jalapeno poppers then this is the dish for you! There’s nothing else I can say except…AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

