Super Quick BBQ Chicken Salad

Yesterday was not a good day, I’m sure Monday’s aren’t really fun for anyone. It was rainy, G–Man was making me go berserk during our school day…all I kept singing in my head was “rainy days and Mondays always get me down”. Oh, btw, I’m a huge Carpenters fan! Just putting that out there 😉  And on days like yesterday, I tend to skips meals it’s a bad habit I know, but it’s even worse when I eat emotionally…can I get a holla?!

So, enter stage right, one of the quickest and tastiest salads I have made yet. I’m a huge fan of the Tyson Grilled Chicken Strips. They’re quick, versatile, and I’ve used them in a number of dishes! Soups, salads, wraps, stir fries, casseroles, crock pot dishes, and yes even vintage recipes.  (<—Click there for TBT recipe. It’s a yummy spin on pancakes and please eat them with a chicken gravy! I tried it with a homemade chicken gravy…I was ready to slap someone it was THAT good!)

 

20140818_233627046_iOS

Super Quick BBQ Chicken Salad

Your favorite salad mix (I use romaine)
Tyson Grilled Chicken Strips, 1/2pound — 1pound
Favorite BBQ Sauce
1/2 tsp Tone’s Six Pepper Blend seasoning*
1/4 tsp roasted garlic steak seasoning
5 sweet mini peppers, raw rough chopped
1 large tomato, chopped
Your favorite dressing, optional
White American Cheese, broken into pieces

In medium microwave safe bowl, add frozen grilled chicken, both seasonings and bbq sauce. Cover bowl with paper towels and nuke on high at two minute intervals until chicken is completely thawed and hot. Cut bigger slices with kitchen sheers if desired.

To assemble salad, add salad mix to plate, top with chopped tomatoes, sweet peppers, add pieces of cheese(can be shredded if desired). At this point add your favorite dressing if you like and then top with a healthy spoonful of bbq chicken.

**Tone’s Six Pepper Blend Seasoning–This is a seasoning we buy from our local Sam’s Club, but you can also purchase it through Amazon. It’s spicy, so be careful to not use too much. I like an extra kick to my bbq sometimes, a little sweet and a little heat, delicious! You can eliminate this ingredient all together or you can use a pinch of red pepper flakes instead.

Tones Six Pepper Blend

Tone’s Six Pepper Blend @ Amazon Click above picture to purchase

 

Let me know if and when you try this, I love hearing from y’all! If you like, you can certainly grill your own chicken which is always nice, especially right now during the summer!

 

Happy Eating!!!

Leave a Reply

