Onion Soup Stroganoff

I realize that this post is overdue, Wednesday was not a good day at all. When you wake up with a gurgling stomach you can betcha that the rest of the day is guaranteed to be a loss. I rallied myself long enough to frost 24 cupcakes for the Wednesday night class I teach, only I wasn’t able to be there with them. Thankfully my Dad and nephew were able to take them in for me, received feedback from the other teacher and one of the parents that the cupcakes were a hit 🙂 That certainly helped to perk up my evening!

Well, last Saturday I fell down on my job of menu planning for the week. I was in a funk to begin with and I’ve had to get creative with our evening meals. Tuesday was a play on two favorite dishes…Salisbury Steak and Beef Stroganoff. Now, the marrying of these two dishes just seemed right in my head. For one it would be something quick to make(ground beef is a life saver btw) and two it would give new life to one of my favorite comfort foods.

20140911_045823000_iOS

I chose to serve this with cut green beans and skillet browned butter bread which came in handy in sopping up the gravy. Oh yes, you will definitely want to make that bread!

Onion Soup Stroganoff

(Yields 8-10 servings)

2 pounds ground beef

1 onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup beef broth

8 ounces mushrooms, sliced

1 pkg onion soup mix

8 ounces cream cheese, sliced

1 can cream of mushroom soup

Salt and pepper to taste

Parsley, optional

Egg Noodles

Directions

Brown beef with onions and garlic, drain fat if desired. Add beef broth, mushrooms, and soup mix. Cover and simmer on low for 10 minutes. Stir in cream cheese and cream of mushroom soup. Continue to cook on low for another 10 minutes while boiling egg noodles. Season with salt and pepper to your taste and add in a healthy amount of either fresh or dried parsley. Drain the noodles and plate it up.

Serve hot.

 

20140910_001121584_iOS

Skillet Browned Butter Bread

(This is a simple recipe, use any bread you prefer.)

Bread

Butter

Skillet

Directions

Butter both sides of the bread and cook in a medium high temp skillet until golden brown. Serve immediately.

 

This bread was killer, it really complimented the stroganoff perfectly! Even G-Man was in love with it so much that he gave it two thumbs up three times…so I guess that would be six thumbs… Everyone has said that I need to make the bread again soon. Both of these recipes are definitely going into the tried, true and tasty file!

You might be wondering where the sour cream was for the Stroganoff. Well, I replaced it with the cream cheese, and it was a wonderful trade off! The gravy was thick, substantial, and very filling! If you want a thinner gravy feel free to add sour cream, milk, or heavy cream. But I urge you to try it with the cream cheese, it is most excellent!

Happy Eating!

2 thoughts on “Onion Soup Stroganoff

Leave a Reply

