Spaghetti Salad with Homemade Italian Dressing

Nothing worse than falling asleep while typing. In the midst of working on this last night I apparently fell asleep and Mom told me to go to bed. Please bear with me *pleads softly* Wednesdays have become the “I can’t get anything done” day 🙂 Yes, served up with a pie, large fries…oh and a large coffee, and make it snappy!

First off I get downstairs to pour a bottle of Italian dressing on the veggies I had chopped from the previous night, mind you I have at that point only had two sips of coffee and found there was no dressing. Brick wall…me….BAM! I quickly text my Dad and ask him if he had indeed gotten a bottle of Italian dressing. Oops, sorry. Ok, it’s not like I haven’t had this happen before. Seriously I’ve learned from the best on how to punt and think of solutions on the fly(can’t thank my Mom enough for those lessons). To my iPad I went! Looking for any quick recipe for an Italian dressing…and that’s when I found Maria’s Real Life Dinner site. There I found her how to post on making an Italian Dressing Mix. Now I didn’t find her site right away, there were a few others with Italian dressing recipes that called for ingredients I tend to not keep on hand, it’s discouraging to constantly run into those sites. I don’t know about you but I then start to think that such a recipe is impossible to make at all unless I have Romano cheese, white wine and red wine vinegars, etc.

I skipped through her post, in haste and in no disrespect, down to her recipe and scanned through it. Mentally I was saying, yes, yes, yes, yes, kind of yes, yes,yes…and just as I typed that Meg Ryan from When Harry Met Sally just popped into my head…ok, as I went through the ingredient list I came to the end, gasped and said no. Alright, just for the record there are very few things that will make me gasp in horror, not having an ingredient will pretty much do it for me. But I was determined, after all 1/4 tsp of anything REALLY doesn’t make THAT big of a difference, right? Well, at least not in my book 🙂 So I left out the celery salt, eventually I’ll get some and add it next time.

With renewed determination I set about in making Maria’s Italian dressing mix and kept telling myself  to not look at the kitchen clock. Yeah, we got an hour late start in the end, but I must say her recipe was worth it! No joke, it’s light, refreshing, has a nice bite to it. Especially when used on the Spaghetti Salad recipe! I’m tempted to make extra mix to keep on hand to make 3/4 cup of dressing as needed 🙂

Homemade Italian Salad Dressing MIx

Picture From Real Life Dinner Blog Click The Picture To Get The Recipe

 

It’s an easy recipe to put together and tastes a 1000 times better than the store bought stuff. But I couldn’t help but feel a tad apprehensive in using this for the spaghetti salad. But I’m so glad I did 🙂 I first started off marinading my veggies after making the dressing.

20140917_145702569_iOS

Just love rainbow veggies!!

Over at Six Sisters Stuff I stumbled across the spaghetti salad that was really too good to pass up. During my menu planning I always write down the necessary ingredients that I’ll need and make sure to put them on the grocery list. And I was surprised all I really needed was the dressing, sweet peppers and cheese. This recipe has everything that peaked my interest. Raw veggies, yummy dressing, and cheese!

 

20140917_204941000_iOS

Spaghetti Salad Recipe

Author: Six Sisters’ Stuff
Recipe type: Salad
Cuisine: American
Prep time:  20 mins
Cook time:  8 mins
Total time:  28 mins
Serves: 15
The perfect side dish for a party, potluck, or BBQ because it feeds a crowd! It’s also full of flavor and simple to throw together, making it an instant favorite!

 Ingredients

  • 1 pound thin spaghetti, broke into 3-4″ pieces
  • 3 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 medium zucchini, diced
  • 1 medium yellow zucchini squash, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 2 (2.25 oz) cans sliced olives, drained
  • 8 oz cheddar cheese, cut into small cubes

Dressing:

  • 1 (16 oz) bottle Italian dressing (I love Wishbone Robusto Italian)
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder

Topping:

Instructions

  1. Cook spaghetti according to package directions, then rinse in cold water and drain. Set aside and let cool.
  2. Place tomatoes, zucchini, squash, peppers, onion, cucumber, olives, and cheese in a large bowl. Add cooled spaghetti noodles and mix well.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together dressing, Parmesan cheese, paprika, garlic powder. Pour on top of the spaghetti and vegetables and mix until completely combined. Sprinkle the top with Salad Supreme.
  4. Let sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours before serving (this salad gets better with time, as the flavors meld together).

 

 I did take few a liberties with this recipe(no shocker there). I had to tailor it to my family’s taste, not everyone in my family is wild about raw red onion, cucumber, raw green bell pepper or black olives. Man, I have a tough crowd to please *sighs* Never say die! I omitted those items and replaced the red onion with green onions(scallions), used a handful of mini sweet peppers(red, orange, yellow), and the cheese I opted for was a seriously sharp white cheddar. It has a nice bite to it, perhaps too much if you’re not used to it. Instead of cubing the cheese I shredded it for easier eating. But you don’t have to do that.
Feel free to use any cheese you prefer, my nephew wasn’t too sure about the overall flavor. I’m thinking it’s because he’s not an Italian dressing fan, he’s more of a Mediterranean dressing lover. Which I’m sure could be used instead and add feta cheese to it. My Mom really liked it, couldn’t stop eating it in fact! LOL
And here I would have thought the raw veggies wouldn’t be a hit with her. I did dice up certain vegetables such as the peppers, since those tend to be the crunchiest.

I even took some to a few ladies at my church and already one has told me she just had to taste it last night after getting home, told me it was yummy and that she would be having it for lunch today 🙂 There is no denying that the combination of seriously shard white cheddar cheese, tomatoes, and dressing that this salad has a distinct bite to it. If you want to reduce that you could balance out the tang with a little sugar or reduce the amount of dressing and tomatoes that get used. I only used two roma tomatoes instead of three, but I absolutely loved it! It was surprisingly light, refreshing, not at all heavy and could easily be paired with a grilled or baked chicken. However, just as it is it makes for a lovely vegan and vegetarian summer dinner salad! And it can also be made lower in carbs by using Dreamfield’s pasta, which is what I did! I don’t have the exact numbers ready for this post, but I will put that on my list of things to get done hopefully by this weekend.

I hope you all enjoy these two recipes, please be sure to go the Real Life Dinner and Six Sisters Stuff blogs to leave your reviews 🙂 Hope you all enjoy and have a blessed day!!

5 thoughts on “Spaghetti Salad with Homemade Italian Dressing

  1. Sounds delicious glad you were able to improvise! Recipes are great and so adaptable to fit your family tastes. Tweak, eat, share gosh that could be my fourth web title? Seriously, you must get some good sleep my friend! Love the story are Mom’s not great…Cheryl.

    • Oh they certainly are 🙂
      If it’s a new recipe, I tend to not do any tweaking until after I’ve made it at least once. But I had no choice with the salad recipe. I had to make those adjustments but in the end it came out just as yummy and my Dad even said that if you leave out the noodles you’d have a great “salsa”. Hey, he might have something there 😉
      I will try harder to get more sleep lol I know it’s taking it’s toll on me, hope you’re having a blessed day so far! Take care, Amanda

      • Of course Amanda I am one to talk only sleeping 5-6 hours a night?! It’s hard sometimes to get more than that for me. I want to see you as rested as you can be! Hey, your Daddy indeed may be on to something. Oh, Daddy’s are terrific too! Take special care of yourself my friend! Cheryl

    • Hey Cheryl, sorry to worry you hon. Just been swamped with school, life, and trying raise money to become a Jamberry Consultant(which hasn’t been as successful as I would have liked). I have a back log of pictures that I need to sort and recipes to share 🙂 I hope to get to it soon. Thank you so much for thinking of me, you’re a dear friend!!

Leave a Reply

