“I’m not a morning person…you don’t say!”

Good morning!!! It’s not too often that I’ll make something for a Sunday morning. There is usually very little time for me to do so, but G–Man has been requesting pancakes lately. I’m not a morning person…you don’t say! As if anyone here has missed the memo on that lol!! Sunday mornings I’m doing good just to get up and get ready for church. So G–Man asked me, why don’t you make breakfasts on Sunday morning? Apparently he had heard from another boy in his Sunday School class that his mom woke up early every Sunday to make waffles for them. In my head I thought well that’s great for them (note, I can be very sarcastic and a lot of the time I don’t voice it because it can be mean or rude…I don’t mean to be that way it is a knee jerk response though). I told him that I’m not a morning person to begin with, it’s not easy for me to get up before the crack of dawn. His solution of course, go to bed sooner and get up earlier. Oh sweet child of mine!

If only it worked that way! Instead I made a compromise, I told him that Saturdays could be the mornings that I make a special breakfast and any leftovers can be had for the next day! He agreed and I get to sleep in an additional hour now on Sunday mornings. I know that probably doesn’t paint me in a very good light, his childhood is fleeting I get this, he’s 10 going on 25 and knows everything. I should be more willing to get up before the sun and make those memories with him but honestly I just can’t do it. I’m lucky most nights if I can even get to bed before 4am. The hardcore truth is that my insomnia is getting worse and it is taking its toll on me. No matter how hard I try or how exhausted I feel, when I get into bed my brain will not for the life of me shut off. I’m thinking about everything I need to do, things I should have done but forgot about, projects I’d like to accomplish before the month/year is out(btw, there are 9 Fridays till Christmas as of today). Throughout the day my mind is like sludge but at night it comes alive and won’t turn off. I’ve lived up the the night owl name for quite some time but I would like to get some sleep and what little I get I’m not too eager to relinquish so quickly.

Everyone thinks they have to keep up with the Joneses, well folks I am a Jones(no seriously, that’s my maiden name) and I’m moving at snail speed through thick peanut butter, feel free to pass on by 😉 I’ll most likely hold ya up. In the end, I don’t let what others are doing get me down. We all living our own lives, creating our own memories with our families. We can’t all be the same! But you have to do what is best for your crew(family). After explaining this to G–Man he’s content to let me have what little precious sleep I can get and enjoy what memories we can make. Besides, I’ve never been one to do what everyone else is doing. I’m a go against the flow kind of gal 😉

In honor of G–Man and our Saturday brunch together, here’s a recipe that we made. Hope you enjoy!

20141010_165757000_iOS

Sausage Pancake Patties

(Basic Buttermilk Pancake recipe can be found HERE)

8–10 sausage patties

1 recipe for Basic Buttermilk Pancakes

Fry up the sausage patties and place on paper towels to drain. Don’t throw out the sausage grease, but add a little vegetable oil to it and reduce the burner temp to medium to get the oil heated. Follow the recipe for the buttermilk pancakes. Dip each sausage patty in the batter. It will be thick, you might be tempted to stir it till it’s runny. Please don’t do that, you want the batter to be foamy, this is what will give you the lighter pancake. Just carefully coat the sausage patties in the batter and place in the hot oil. Fry till they are golden brown and place on a paper towel lined plate. Serve with your favorite syrup, fruit compote and morning beverage!

20141004_174819952_iOS

We’re fans of 100% Maple Syrup 😀

We. Loved. This! If you have leftover batter, which I had enough to make a couple of pancakes, just cook it up on a hot griddle and freeze once cooled. Makes for a nice breakfast the next day! Pop it in the toaster oven and enjoy with butter, syrup or jam.

Have a blessed Saturday!!

4 thoughts on ““I’m not a morning person…you don’t say!”

  1. Hello Amanda, I did not know you have such difficulty getting to sleep, bless your heart; many men and woman suffer with insomnia my S-I-L has it bad (her brain won’t stop/slow down etc.) finally she went to her PCP (primary care Physician) and she ordered her to take Ambien – 1 tablet .5 mg nightly. That seemed to do the trick. She does not wake up groggy. She had fought the insomnia for well over 1 year before finally about collapsing in exhaustion and went to her Doctor. Not being a health care provider I can only share what my S-I-L finally had to do?! May be a solution to help you? We have written before about how I usually only get 5 hours of sleep a night-that is true enough. It is my own fault because I fight sleep always have since childhood. Once in bed I am asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow. Funny how we all have different sleeping patterns. As for your compromise with your son you are doing well with that taking in to consideration all the issues. It is good to see you blogging again and sharing! Your Florida friend. Cheryl Ps the recipe for breakfast sounds delicious!!!

    • Cheryl, you are such a blessing!! Thank you for all the uplifting and kind thoughts 🙂 I I always look forward to hearing from you, my dear friend.
      I have been doing some reading on my adrenal glands, when I can’t sleep I read, and figure I need to start taking a supplement to help support them. Well, I ought to be more diligent in a lot of other things as well, but I’m saving that for my other blog site(yes, I’m thinking of starting another one but only for the purpose of my journey with PCOS and raising awareness for it. Still trying to pick out a blog theme and name for it.), as if I don’t already have enough on my plate lol!!

      But thankfully it should go a bit more smoothly since I am moving such articles from here to there 🙂 And that’s the unofficial announcement hehe, it’ll be great. I’m looking forward to freeing up a lot of space on this blog to allow for more recipe posts!
      Thank you again my friend, you truly are a gift from heaven. Your friend, Amanda.

      • Amanda, a great idea for PCOS many suffer from it and have nowhere really to turn especially on a daily/weekly basis so your starting a blog dedicated to that important real issue is great news. A blog that people can share their experiences and share information. I have three sites Amanda I post on. The one we met originally on is a daily journal/blog Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser Ocean Living and Cooking (with all 3 having a link to Tasty Kitchen.com a community-public recipe sharing site where I have 562 + recipes posted). The 2nd one http://cheffiecookseasy123.wordpress.com helping those cooking on a budget, 3rd one (recently started last month) http:// 1allthingscitrus2.wordpress.com, where I share recipes and ideas using citrus fruits. I post on the other two every other day. Now, I know you can do it if I can manage 3!!! You can manage 2. I love them all…
        A RALLY A JOURNEY WITH PCOS. You’ll think of a name and find a theme! Your Florida Bud. Cheryl.

Leave a Reply

