Cheesy Sausage & Sweet Pepper Soup

20150108_204037000_iOS

I rarely go out of my way to make something for lunch. Most of the time Mom, JJ, and G–Man do their own thing and I tend to skip lunch all together. Last week with all the blistering cold single digit weather we had(yes, hard to imagine, but it did get down to 6 or 7 degrees last week in  Alabama) I was in the mood to make something hot that would warm us all up! It was a recipe that I concocted in my head, something I wasn’t sure if it would turn out good or if anyone else would be willing to try. But once I told my Mom what was in it she said “oh that sounds good!” Yep, that boosted my confidence and away I ran with it! Now, G–Man is the pickiest eater and wouldn’t touch this soup. He said it smelled good but he refused to try it. Mom, JJ and I on the other hand absolutely enjoyed it!

It’s a soup that will definitely stick to your ribs and fill you up! You can certainly use low–fat options for the ingredients if you prefer, I’m not going to judge ya. But this is one of those dishes where you need crusty thick bread to sop up the cheesy liquid. The consistency of this soup could almost pass as a fondu!

Cheesy Sausage & Sweet Pepper Soup

1 pound sausage(bulk mild, sweet, or spicy)

half bag sweet mini peppers, remove the seeds and sliced

1 small red onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 cups cheddar cheese

1 brick cream cheese or Neufchatel cheese, cubed

1 cup heavy cream

salt and pepper to taste

In a small dutch oven, brown sausage with onion, add in peppers and garlic. Cook until meat is no longer pink, onions are transparent and peppers are tender. Stir in cubed cream cheese until it is completely incorporated. Pour in heavy cream and stir in cheddar cheese. Turn temp to low/medium to allow the cheese to fully melt. If mixture is too thick add a little extra cream or if it is too thin add extra cheese. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper to your liking. Serve with crusty bread(day old is good too) and enjoy!

20150108_203522116_iOS

NOK’s Cooking Notes

  • I personally liked this soup even more the next day, after it had sat in the fridge and used it as a cold dip for a snack with Clubhouse crackers. A delicious little treat with a cup of hot tea and a good kindle book.
  • As I stated before you can use lower fat ingredients, instead of heavy cream you can use half n half or milk. Turkey sausage can be used but make sure it hasn’t been previously cooked, raw meat is better so that it can be crumbled as it’s cooking.
  • You can certainly serve this soup with a salad, something light like a caesar.
  • You can definitely make with as many peppers as you wish(green included), I just used what I had.
  • It has been brought to my attention that I will next time have to double or triple this recipe simply because “it’s that good!”–JJ.
  • I think the next time I make this I will use both mild and spicy bulk sausage and a seriously sharp cheddar cheese along with regular cheddar.

If you are confused about the difference between cream cheese and Neufchatel, click HERE to read more! I have never used Neufchatel cheese but I think it would work just as well in this recipe as the cream cheese does…just with less fat!

Happy eating!!!

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Sausage & Sweet Pepper Soup

    • Hey Cheryl! So good to hear from you 🙂
      All is well up here, a tad chilly but we’re all staying warm and cozy! The soup is a keeper, so pleased with how it turned out! How are things in your neck of the woods?

Leave a Reply

