A Childhood Recipe Not Found Anywhere on the Web…

We all have a recipe in the family that has been around for forever and you have fond memories of your Mom, Granny, or Aunt making it often. Well, such is the case for this recipe I’m sharing today. Growing up I was never really a fan of it because of the swiss cheese that my Mom would use with it. Let me just say this, you either love swiss cheese or you don’t. And growing up I hated it! I couldn’t stand it’s strong pungent flavor but I did think the holes were cool. Reminded me of the cheese from Tom and Jerry! But then Mom started making it with baby Swiss cheese and then my love for it grew!

tom-and-jerry-cheese

But I loved the rest of the dish immensely! So how come I couldn’t find it on the web?! After asking my Mom for the recipe she told me it was a recipe that Memaw got from a microwave cookbook.
Oh, well that explains it!

So after giving me the basic instructions on how to put it together I got busy making…Swiss Chicken.

20150209_233947986_iOS

Swiss Chicken

Yields 1 full baking pan about 10–12 servings*

1–2 pounds of cooked shredded chicken
3–4 tblsp butter, melted
Season with Lawry’s Original Seasoning Salt and black pepper to taste
6 ounces Great Value Fried Onions, crushed
8 ounces mushrooms, chopped
1 package baby Swiss Cheese slices

(The traditional way that my Mom made this was she would cook raw chicken in butter and pour everything on a foil lined baking pan. But since I used boiled shredded chicken, melted butter will need to be poured over this once the chicken is on the baking pan.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.
In a large bowl combine cooked shredded chicken with butter and season with Lawry’s salt and black pepper. Pour out on to a foil lined baking pan. Top with chopped mushrooms and place in the oven and bake for 5 minutes.
In the meantime, crush fried onions in their bag and get ready to add them. Sprinkle crushed onions over chicken and mushrooms, put it back in the oven for another 5 minutes.
Add Swiss Cheese slices and bake until just melted. A couple of minutes tops.

20150209_233007446_iOS     20150209_233204770_iOS

(Chicken above with first the mushrooms and then the fried onions.)
I mentioned above that it can serve 10–12 servings, that is if you count each square of cheese a serving size. You can also use shredded Swiss cheese instead, I leave that up to you.

Now, what to serve with it? You can have baked potatoes if you like, with a salad on the side. Stuffing and roasted veggies if you prefer. But our favorite was mashed potatoes with country chicken gravy and corn on the side. What can I say? We love southern food! Not to say Swiss Chicken is a southern dish, but it does pair nicely with southern sides! I am also placing this under the low carb category. It’s not appropriate for those who are just starting out, but if you are in maintenance then you should do well with this dish.

Hope you all enjoy this dish, share it with your friends and family! Have a blessed day 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Childhood Recipe Not Found Anywhere on the Web…

  1. I wonder how it would work to mix the ingredients together and then just spread it on the pan. I’ve tinkered with this recipe for more than 30 years, and I LOVE coming up with a slightly different way of doing it. So, how long before it gets put on the meal list again? Ha!

  2. Hi Amanda, I must tell you the Great Value french fried onion rings are just terrific. I use to buy the French’s Brand (in a can) one day not that long ago I was at our Local Walmart (Super Center) for kitty food, litter that type of thing and happened to see it on an end cap in a resealable bag. Caught my eye for some reason (has absolutely nothing to do with kitty litter/food?). I thought, we love green bean casserole I am going to try this as the topping. I purchased 4 bags that day and I have been getting them ever since! Who knew? I think somehow we all have a childhood recipe we love and have no clue how it originated?! Fun! Your Florida Bud, Cheryl.

    • Cheryl, I could easily eat the entire bag they are so good!! So much better than the name brand, less greasy too.
      Oh isn’t that the truth about childhood recipes! I love the memories such recipes induce. Wonderful times! Take care hon!!

Leave a Reply

