Easter is on it’s way and Pound Cake…

Afternoon everyone, it’s been a while since I’ve posted. I hope you haven’t forgotten who I am 😉 Things have been a tad busy around here, well at least in my own little world. My Jamberry business is starting to pick up! I’m so excited about that!! I have two home parties that I’m gearing up for and that’s what’s been consuming my downtime. When I’m not teaching G and cooking/baking I’m usually making slide shows, pulling graphics together to use on my business page and currently have an online party going to the end of the month. How many more irons can I put in the fire?! No, really don’t hand me anymore lol!! I’ve got plenty thanks 🙂 But I am super pumped about the Spring/Summer line that Jamberry has put out. Lots of new styles, new lacquers and they are doing this new thing where they are mixing up wraps on one sheet! Two or three designs put together to really customize your mani/pedi. It’s so much fun!! My Facebook party that I got going on(in case anyone in the US/CAN area wants to join) is called Easter Basket Jam. It will end March 31st, so if you want any fun wraps or lacquers to complete your Easter look now’s the time to get them.

10292548_10205965921928505_2406714140108441795_n     1780724_772724752811522_179479146553386366_n

10805609_10205965926688624_664206258421361209_n

If you have a daughter, here is a Mommy and Me look that is sure to please!

16666565231_ef7091da3f_b

If you don’t wear things on your nails either by choice or because of your workplace regulations, BUT you like for them to look clean and well taken care of, Jamberry does offer high quality nail care supplies and above is some of their newer products! The cuticle oil pen makes it so much easier to apply the cuticle oil and there’s no worrying about a bottle spilling over or getting oil all over your fingers. Very nice to have!

I trust everyone had  wonderful St. Patrick’s Day 🙂 We certainly had a nice one. Didn’t go all out this time like we did last year. Kept it simple and had a fun dessert that everyone just loved! It was a cream cheese pound cake, which I’ve made before, but I did a little twist with it! Keeping it in line with the festivities I made it into a St. Patrick’s Day Pound Cake (see below).

IMG_9044(1)

There are a couple of ways you can get a swirled effect with your cake batter. One is to use a knife(plastic or metal) and swirl the dough together. Another method I’ve seen is where you place your batter into bags and squeeze it out in a random fashion. I think I might try that method next time just for kicks!
The recipe I used is your standard cream cheese pound cake recipe that makes a 10–inch bundt cake. I divided the batter in half and colored the one with green food coloring (approx. 3/8 tsp). You can certainly use gel coloring, I think the suggested amount is about 1/4 tsp but definitely go by the suggested amounts on your box/bottle. All brands are different!

St. Patrick’s Day Pound Cake

(Recipe found at AllRecipes)

Yields 1 10–inch Pound Cake
Prep Time: 30 minutes
Bake Time: 1 hr 10 minutes(+/-)

Ingredients:

1 8 ounce package cream cheese, room temp
1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
3 cups sugar
6 eggs, room temp
2–3 tsp vanilla*
3 cups all purpose flour3/8 tsp green food coloring

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325*F (but I didn’t do this because I wanted the outside of my cake to be lighter in color since I was using a darker baking pan). Grease and flour your pan; set aside.

In large bowl cream together cream cheese and butter. Scrape down the sides if needed and add in the sugar. Now here’s where I deviated slightly. Add all eggs into the batter and continue mixing for 2–3 minutes. Since there is no leavening in this cake you must incorporate air into the batter. I’ve been making pound cakes for years and have never had a flat pound cake by adding in all the eggs at once. So save yourself the time and just add all the eggs at once. Just be sure to mix the batter longer to achieve the same results. While mixing the eggs in go ahead and add in the vanilla. You don’t have to use as much as I did, you can stick with the original recipe but I love the flavor the Madagascar vanilla imparts.
Remove the beaters and gently fold in the flour. This is crucial that you are careful with this process, don’t just stir the flour into the batter. Otherwise you’ll lose all that air you just whipped into it. Go slow, be gentle, and once the flour is incorporated completely put half the batter into a separate bowl.

Into one bowl add green food coloring or gel. Fold the coloring into the batter, again be gentle. The method I used for adding the batter into the pan was I started with the blonde or non–colored batter first and then added the colored batter on top. Then using a plastic knife I swirled the two colors together. I did this with each later. 

Bake for 1 hour, test the cake. If it’s still too gooey in the center continue to bake for another 5–10 minutes until the cake tester/knife/tooth pick comes out clean. Let it cool for 10 minutes in the pan before turning out onto your cake plate. Let it cool completely before adding either powdered sugar or glaze over the top.

IMG_9056     IMG_9062

My nephew, JJ, said it looked moldy. Kids. In a way I guess it does 😉 Throw in a darker shade of green and you’d have a camouflage pound cake hehe! I let this cool for an hour before I glazed it.

Green Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
2–4 Tblsp French Vanilla Coffee Creamer
1/4 tsp green food coloring(or more if you want a richer shade)

In a bowl stir together powdered sugar and coffee creamer until completely combined. Add in food coloring and drizzle over cooled cake.

IMG_9069

IMG_9074

It turned out so pretty! I love green(which is my favorite color), it tastes so buttery and vanilla-ee…yeah that’s not a word! Basically, this recipe will work for any occasion. Use different colors all at once for a rainbow pound cake, stick with a theme color for other parties and festivities. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed! It’s a lovely dense cake that holds up well to being colored. It’s imperative that you use all purpose flour for this recipe, do not use cake flour. Cake flour is too light and you won’t get that dense pound cake texture.     

I hope you enjoy this cake, let me know if you decide to make it. I love hearing from y’all!
Have a blessed day!!

2 thoughts on “Easter is on it’s way and Pound Cake…

Leave a Reply

