What is Candida?

Today I thought that I should share the laundry list of symptoms that comes with candida, but first, what is candida? How do you even say candida?! Thanks to Bing search engine, I’ve been schooled in the ‘proper’ pronunciation…but I’m not diggin’ it! Sounds too much like Canada(not dissing Canada). There should be a distinction between the two words though. Right?! When I played the pronunciation clip, G–Man asked me if the voice was saying Canada. See? So while the proper way to say it is can-di-duh, I prefer can-dee-duh. Y’all can say it however you like I’m not gonna correct you!

Candid– is a yeastlike, parasitic fungus that can sometimes cause thrush. 

We all have this in our bodies, the issue arises when it gets out of control and starts taking over or throwing the balance off with your good bacteria in your body. This is when you may start to notice certain symptoms. And should you let it go undetected for too long you just might want to cry…like I did. I’ve written the word “check” out beside each symptom to indicate which ones I have or had suffered from. It’s nice to know that it’s not all in my head!

This list is provided by the CandidaMD website:

Mental/emotional/nervous system:

  • Headaches and migraine headaches (check, woke up with one this morning)
  • Depression (check)
  • Sleep problems — difficulty falling asleep, or waking up in the middle of the night with a mind that won’t calm down (typically between 1 and 3 am) (check yep, nightly)
  • Irritability and confusion (check)
  • Poor memory (check)
  • Anxiety attacks, panic attacks (check)
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) (check)
  • Heart beating too fast or irregularly (check)
  • Sexual problems — impotence or lack of desire, or excessive sexuality (uh, skip)
  • Attention deficit, hyperactivity (ADD/ADHD) (check, ADD)
  • Dizziness
  • Numbness (check)
  • Feeling of floating or not quite being in your body (check)
  • Indecisiveness, difficulty organizing and cleaning messy areas (check, check, and check!)

Digestive system:

  • Cravings for sugar, chocolate, milk, cheese, vinegar, pickles, alcohol, bread, nuts or fruit (check)
  • “Metabolic syndrome” which includes the following: large abdomen (“beer belly”), adult-onset diabetes, high cholesterol or triglycerides, high blood pressure (check)
  • “Beer belly,” also called truncal obesity — excess weight centered around the abdomen (check)
  • Acid reflux/GERD (heartburn) (check)
  • Hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) (check)
  • Bloating, flatulence or abdominal pain (check)
  • Rectal itching (I know it happens, but does anyone really admit it?!)
  • Constipation and/or diarrhea (check)
  • Excessively thin or anorexic/bulimic

Skin, eyes, hair:

  • Skin and nail fungal infections (current or past), including: athlete’s foot, vaginal yeast infections, fungal toenails, ringworm, jock itch, tinea versicolor or itchy eyelids (check, especially the itchy eyelids!!)
  • Skin problems like eczema, rashes, psoriasis (check)
  • Prematurely graying hair (check, ever since I was 15)
  • Pupils always dilated (not sure)
  • Unusually green eyes, or eye color has turned greenish (check, mine are supposed to be hazel but yesterday G–Man noticed my eyes looked more greenish teal very odd.)

Immune disorders:

  • Asthma and allergies
  • Recurring infections — colds, ears, bladder, sinus (check)
  • Autoimmune disease (lupus, hypothyroidism, arthritis, others) (check)
  • Penicillin allergy

Whole body:

  • Fatigue (check)
  • Muscle or joint pain, fibromyalgia (check for muscle and joint)
  • Cold feet, cold hands, sometimes cold nose (check, check, and check even in the summer)
  • Sweating, especially at night (check)
  • Uncomfortable at any temperature (check, I have a one degree of comfort. Very frustrating.)

Women’s health issues:

  • Premenstrual syndrome (PMS) (check)
  • Endometriosis (chronic pelvic pain)
  • Infertility (female), some miscarriages, toxemia of pregnancy (preeclampsia)

Symptoms seen particularly in children up to about 8 years old:

  • Early allergy to foods like milk (check for G–Man)
  • Infections as a baby
  • Child had or has frequent ear infections, tonsillitis, strep throat or bladder infections, especially if these infections were treated with antibiotics (Check for G–Man)
  • Cravings for milk, cheese, yogurt, macaroni and cheese, or peanut butter (check for G–Man)
  • Asthma
  • “Drama king” or “drama queen” — complains quite vocally and often (check for G–Man)
  • Poor sleep patterns — difficulty going to sleep, sleeps too lightly or has frequent nightmares, and wakes up too early (or sometimes too late) (check for G–Man)
  • Too thin or overweight (check for G–Man)
  • Attention deficit with or without hyperactivity (ADD/ADHD)
  • Aggressive, poor social interactions, can’t stop moving, frequent fights or arguments, frequent crying (check for G–Man)
  • Autism
  • Pale complexion, dark circles under the eyes (check for G–Man)

Still with me?! Phew, I know it’s a long list but this does explain so much of why I have felt horrible for years. And to know the symptoms for kids has me wondering about G–Man. Though I’ve listed which ones he has suffered from I have noticed that some have eased as he’s gotten older. Has me wondering if environment, diet and hormones has anything to do with it.

So hopefully this helps to shed some light for those out there who have been struggling for years. If you’re the person who keeps going back to the doctor, taking one prescription after another and not getting any relief then ask your doctor or naturopath about Candida(can-di-duh). It couldn’t hurt.

Ok, I’m going to post my recipe separate simply because this post alone is approaching 900 words! Rather lengthy. Bear with me, I’ll get that up asap!!

Have a blessed day!!

6a00d83451d48a69e200e55130c0708833-800wi

5 thoughts on “What is Candida?

  1. Great list of symptoms on yeast! Yeast is the a New America Parasite! https://pcoslady.wordpress.com/2013/12/14/the-american-parasite-yeast/ … Every antibiotic leaves yeast behind that grows over years in you! It can start suffocating your organs! Yeast can turn to alcohol or cancer in you a swell… Natural probiotics daily and yeast cleansing every 3 years along with cutting back on carbs with yeast will greatly help… I’ll add your link to my blog under yeast…

    • Thank you so much and I completely agree. I grew up a sickly child. Always had earaches, infections, every year our family gets sick in January and you betcha antibiotics have had a major role in my life. That is up until about two years ago when I swore them off for good. But the damage was already done. It’s no wonder I’ve had so many issues for most of my life.

      I just glad I finally figured it out! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      • I’m glad you figured out why and have gotten healthy! I feel some damage can be reversed in time by eating and doing the right things… I feel sorry for everyone that is uninformed and misled in the health industry… I can’t say enough about the Parasitology Center… 250,000 bad parasites exist, of that 50,000 types are yeast! Its a huge problem! Being in the know will save lives… All one’s symptoms count!

Leave a Reply

