Last Week’s Cold and Fever…

…is this weeks weight loss! Yes I am down a total of 10 pounds 🙂 Last Tuesday I started the day with a sore throat and sneezing, by that evening I was down for the count. By Wednesday night I had a fever and the remainder of the week remained a blur. Sunday was the first day I actually felt clear headed and more like myself but still physically weak from being dehydrated. I did have enough energy to get into the kitchen to make myself some Italian Chicken, but it took me two hours to do it lol!!! I was moving so slow but I did manage to cook up a little dinner. Something healthy and low carb too!

I saw a recipe online for a cucumber salad and thought “hey, that sounds pretty good!” but the bummer side to it is that it’s not dairy free. So for those who are looking for low carb dairy free recipe, I apologize in advance…this is not one. However, I did make this lower in carb by replacing sugar with Stevia and not using nearly as much onion as some of the recipes I’ve seen call for.

IMG_0573

Cucumber Squash Salad

Serves 4
Prep Time: 5 minutes +/-
Total Time: 10 minutes +/-

3 small cucumbers, peeled or not
1 medium yellow squash, peeled
1 medium zucchini, peeled
1/4 onion, diced
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tsp Stevia
1 Tblsp vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

In a medium bowl add your sliced vegetables and diced onion. Stir in sour cream, stevia, vinegar, salt and pepper. Cover and let it sit for a couple of hours before serving.
Goes great with bbq, grilled chicken, burgers you name it! It’s a cool and refreshing salad for the summer!

Nutritional Information for 1 serving:

Calories: 152
Fat: 3g
Carbohydrates: 8g
Fiber: 2g
Net Carbs: 6g

A thought did cross my mind, for those concerned about fat or calories you can use Greek yogurt if you like or reduced fat sour cream. The nutritional value changes so please be mindful. All the numbers are based on full fat ingredients, when doing low carb it is better to consume a little more fat with each meal. It helps to keep you sated longer and less likely to cheat or snack on something unhealthy later!

Please let me know if you make this and what you think! I hope you all have a blessed Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

