Mediocre Results…

Last night I decided to do a family favorite but low carb style. Baked Parmesan Chicken and Squash Casserole. I know there are plenty of recipes out there that boast delicious results, this is just my take on two of our faves. With any new food lifestyle there are bound to be recipes that there just aren’t any substitutions for, that’s a sad realization but it’s the truth. Now my own beef with last nights meal was that there was just way too much butter. GASP! I know, but for someone who is trying to minimize her candida issues, there was just too much butter in both recipes. For starters…

IMG_0676

Baked Parmesan Chicken

I basically took our recipe but I modified it to make it more low carb friendly. The results were tasty, tender, but for me too buttery.

10 chicken tenders
1 cup butter
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups parmesan cheese
1 tsp dried basil
1tsp dried parsley
1/2 cup almond flour
1/2 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line baking pan with foil, set aside. Melt butter with garlic on stove top, leave on low. Combine dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. Pat dry the chicken and with a fork, dip the chicken tender in the warm garlic butter. Place into parmesan coating and transfer to baking pan. Repeat for remaining chicken tenders. Any leftover coating should be evenly sprinkled over the chicken, as well as the leftover garlic butter. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

Everyone loved this chicken, JJ said it was the best yet because it was so tender and juicy and I will agree with him on that note. I explained to him it was because of the almond flour. Breadcrumbs are dry and tend to suck the moisture out of the chicken. Almond flour on the other hand has it’s own oil and will lend it instead of absorbing the moisture from the chicken. He thought it was pretty cool and really enjoyed it!
It was very parmesany, I’m just thankful for the digestive enzymes I take that helped me through the night. While this was a low carb recipe(@2g net carbs per two pieces), it was a rich recipe and one I won’t be having too often.

Our side dish was flavorful but somewhat disappointing. We’re used to a squash casserole that is creamy with a crunchy cheese topping. That’s not what happened last night. I only ate small spoonful on my salad, burped it for a while afterwards and was concerned it would cause acid reflux later on in the night. It didn’t but I don’t think I’ll be making that particular recipe again.

IMG_0674

Low Carb Squash Casserole

1 medium zucchini, peeled and sliced
1 medium yellow squash, peeled and sliced
1 medium onion, diced
2 Tblsp butter
6 pieces of turkey bacon, chopped
2 cups shredded cheese
salt and pepper to taste
Parmesan cheese for top

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Peel and slice zucchini and squash into rounds. Set aside. Dice onion and chop turkey bacon, add to a skillet with butter and cook on medium heat until onions are transparent. Add veggies and cover for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Season with a little salt and pepper(I did a pinch of each) and transfer to an 8×8 baking dish. Stir in shredded cheese, top with parmesan cheese and bake for 10 minutes.

At 6g net carbs per serving(6 servings) I wasn’t too thrilled with this. Mostly because of how it left me feeling afterwards. Could easily be from all the dairy and turkey bacon. I’m not sure how the rest of the family liked it, didn’t look like too much of it was eaten. I will say this, it needed more zucchini and squash. The cheese ratio to veggies was way off. If I make this gain I will be adding more vegetables and reducing the cheese considerably. Two cups just seems like a lot for so little vegetable content.

I leave it up to you wonderful readers to give these recipes a try, if you do please let me know what you think. If you have any suggestions about how I can improve these two dishes in a low carb gluten–free way then comment below! I look forward to your suggestions!

Have a blessed day!!!

Leave a Reply

