It’s August!!

hello-august-copy

August is here again, it doesn’t seem right. The year is just speeding on by and me without my roadrunner shoes to keep up! We’re kicking off this school week with two birthdays, JJ’s and my Mom!! And today is JJ’s 21st b–day!!! That kid has given me plenty of gray hairs, lots of laughs and enough back talk to last me a lifetime 😉

What better way to celebrate a 21st birthday than with some homemade mint chocolate chip ice cream! It’s crazy easy, you’re going to be kicking yourself for not making this sooner…I know I am!

11846101_10153455380869014_562268287_n

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

2 cups heavy cream, not half n half

1 tsp vanilla extract(I used McCormick brand)

2 tsp peppermint extract(I used Kroger brand)

14 oz can sweetened condensed milk(Eagle brand)

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, chopped(Nestle)

1/4–1/2 tsp green food coloring(McCormick)

In a large bowl, whip up the heavy cream until stiff peaks form. Set aside.
In a medium size bowl combine the extracts, condensed milk, chocolate chips and green food coloring. You can add more coloring if you want an intense color. I couldn’t control the color, so I added about 1/2 tsp of coloring. You can use less if you want.
Fold the whipped cream into the condensed milk mixture until completely combined. Pour into a loaf pan and cover with plastic wrap. It’s important for the plastic wrap to be pressed lightly into the top of the mixture. You want any air bubbles, those would cause crystals to form on top which is no bueno!
Freeze for up to 4 hours or overnight before serving!

Night Owl Notes:

My picture looks blue–green, which is weird since in natural light it didn’t look green at all. It’s a nice shade of green, so don’t pay too much attention to the weirdness going on in my picture. Just use it as a guide for other things such as the loaf pan, the size of the bowl, etc.
I did taste test this before freezing, it has a nice light minty flavor, it’s not overpowering which for this gal that’s a major plus! What’s next on the list?! Cookies~~n~~Cream Ice Cream! OH YEAH! 

Stay tuned and have a blessed day!!

Related Posts::

11830716_10153455807959014_1068942680_n

(click picture)

11798588_10153455808009014_890074371_n

One thought on “It’s August!!

Leave a Reply

