~PCOS Awareness Month Starts Today~

a556be3ae4a0500472f19067f7b23d32

Hey everyone! Hope you all are enjoying this first day of September 🙂 I’m buzzing with excitement because this is the month where we usher in the fall season, consume numerous pumpkin and cinnamon delights, and most importantly talk A LOT about PCOS Awareness!!

I know I’ve gained some new peeps here and you may be wondering what PCOS is…the letters stand for Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. It’s a misnomer for a much bigger issue that involves not just the ovaries, it affects the entire body. The actual name of this disorder is Stein-Leventhal Syndrome. It’s an endocrine disorder and there is cure for it. The internet is notorious for giving this false hope that there is a cure, science hasn’t come up with a way to replace or reboot the endocrine system. Until such a time comes, all we can do is treat the symptoms and there are many ways to do so. But first, here’s my story…

I was 18 when I was diagnosed with PCOS and at the time I didn’t really understand what it all meant. The explained what it was, but the shock of such a diagnosis kept me from computing what she was telling me. A couple of years later I decided to look deeper into the symptoms and boy is the list long!

  • Hirsutism
  • Hair Loss
  • Infertility
  • Infrequent or Absent Periods
  • Obesity
  • Acne
  • Insulin Resistance(a biggie)
  • Skin Tags
  • Sleep Apnea

…and the list goes on. Do I have any of the symptoms listed above? You betcha and then some, I didn’t ask for this, it’s not contagious, but it can be hereditary. I’m the only one in the family with this particular syndrome, although my Dad’s side of the family is riddled with reproductive issues so it could very well stem from that. 

The goal for this month is not to overload everyone on the science of PCOS, but rather to encourage everyone to come together and spread the word. If you or someone you know has insulin resistance, suffers from infertility issues, unwanted hair growth in places that most women don’t have it, don’t just pass it off as “well, I’m getting older and my body is just acting weird.” Please make an appointment with your GYN and/or an endocrinologist and get yourself checked out. 1 in 4 women have PCOS, so it’s more common than you’d think.

I am also going to be sharing tasty recipes, do some giveaways, and since this is a brand new month for Jamberry there are a lot of new things to check out!!! If you are curious about what’s new, go visit my store Jonesin’ For Wraps. On the left hand side you will see things such as:

Stylebox(which a fun box you can sign up for monthly and get exclusive items that are not available on the website)

Buy All(if you are a “I gotta have it all” kind of gal, then this option is perfect! You will get all the new wrap designs including the Junior sizes)

TruShine Gel Enamel(this is Jamberry’s brand new product starting this month. You can buy individual gel enamel colors OR you can buy the kit. Jamberry gel enamels do not use UV light, instead they use an LED light which is safer for your nails and hardens the gel enamel in half the time)

and my absolute favorite…

Holiday wraps!!! There is so much to see, ooo and ahh over, start making those wishlists, get the word out to your girlfriends, and hey feel free to ask me any questions!

You can click on any of the links above, Jamberry offers a Buy 3 Get 1 Free for only wraps. This offer excludes the Collegiate, Sorority, Nail Art Studio Custom Made wraps and other Licensed nail wraps. But hey, that’s an awesome deal and great way to get some Christmas shopping done!

Hope you all have a blessed day!!

5 thoughts on “~PCOS Awareness Month Starts Today~

  1. Happy PCOS Awareness Month, fellow Cyster. 🙂

    This was an awesome post and very informative, even for me. Sometimes I forget that there is no cure for PCOS and beat myself up for not losing weight to “fix myself.” Like you said, it won’t happen until they can reboot the endocrine system. What a lovely reminder. Thank you for that.

    • You’re most welcome C-La! I know, I do the same thing when it comes to not losing the weight. Hopefully one day, should science figure it out before you or I are gone, maybe we’ll get to hear about a break through. Keep the faith and thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

